The Ell Shop in Dunkeld is owned by the National Trust for Scotland, along with over 20 other buildings, which are not open to the public.
Dunkeld is a small, picturesque town situated on the banks of the River Tay. NTS was involved in its restoration in the 1950s and 1960s and still owns 21 buildings including the Ell Shop, which is open to the public. The buildings form a significant part of Dunkeld’s distinctive 18th century townscape. The town is at the centre of a walking route network that covers about 30 miles of waymarked paths.
The trust properties are just part of the attraction of Dunkeld. The town has a dramatic setting alongside the River Tay and surrounded by wood-covered hills. The Dunkeld Cathedral, Telford Bridge and amazingly diverse range of small shops all add to the experience. The trust land on the banks of the rivers Tay and Braan provide a beautiful wooded backdrop to Dunkeld.
The town was rebuilt following the Battle of Dunkeld in 1689. The battle was part of the first Jacobite rebellion, and has been designated an outstanding Conservation Area.