Located on an island in the Lake of Menteith, Inchmahome Priory was founded in 1238 and much of the 13th century building remains.
Inchmahome Priory is a beautifully situated monastery, founded by a small community of Augustinian canons led by Walter Comyn, the Earl of Menteith. The isolated island location gave the perfect tranquility for worship, and the priory has links with many famous historical names including Robert the Bruce, Mary Queen of Scots and Sir Walter Scott.
Today you can explore the chapter house and its collection of stone memorials including a rare 13th century double effigy. The island is also home to a wide variety of plant and wildlife. Founded around 1238, the priory was home to Augustinian canons for more than 300 years. There are some beautifully-decorated features and fine medieval carved graveslabs. The island is perfect for a short walk or a waterside picnic. It is a haven for wildlife. Look for the Spanish chestnuts and the boxwood bower supposedly planted by Mary.
Unless capable of getting themselves into and out of the boat, visitors in wheelchairs are not able to visit this property. Once they have reached the Island, those using wheelchairs or with limited mobility can enter the priory grounds and see about half of the church, cloister and refectory areas. The presbytery, sacristy and warming house are not suitable for visitors with limited mobility.