The historic town of Eyemouth, 5 miles north of the border with England, boasts a natural harbour and fine coastal scenery.
Fishing at Eyemouth dates back to the 13th century and the harbour is still active with its colourful fleet. Like other coastal communities in the 18th century, smuggling was rife amidst the clusters of houses, narrow wynds, caves and underground tunnels. The solitary mansion of Gunsgreen House on the south side of the harbour was at the centre of this illicit trade in wine, spirits, tea and tobacco which is currently being developed as a visitor attraction.
In the 19th century the industry flourished on the basis of haddock and herring fishing, but the port suffered a devastating blow on the 14th October 1881. A storm wrecked the fishing fleet and 189 fishermen, 129 from Eyemouth alone, were drowned, many within sight of the shore. The local museum illustrates the town's history, with a 15-ft tapestry commemorating the disaster.
Highlights of the town's calendar are the Herring Queen Festival in July and the Lifeboat Weekend in August. The popular Berwickshire Coastal Path passes through Eyemouth en-route from Berwick to St Abbs.