"Explore the substantial ruins of a Tironensian monastery, founded by William the Lion in 1178, who is buried in Arbroath Abbey."
Arbroath Abbey is famously associated with the Declaration of Arbroath of 1320, which asserted Scotland's independence from England.
Parts of the abbey church and domestic buildings remain, notably the gatehouse range and the abbot's house.
Visitors can enjoy the herb garden along the south wall of the abbey church. The visitor centre provides a walk through audio-visual with a sound loop system. There is also a staff operated platform to enable disabled access to the upper viewing area.
Gravel paths and grassed areas allow access to most of the ground level of the abbey, (except the sacristy), and interpretation boards in the nave. There are displays on abbey life in the ground floor of the Abbot's House, and on the declaration of Arbroath in the ground floor of the Gatehouse. Due to the turnpike stair, there is no disabled access to the upper floors of the Abbot's House, Gatehouse range or South transept.
New for 2014 – A new display tells the story of the day the Stone of Destiny came to the abbey in 1951. New interpretation panels also explore potential links between the Declaration of Arbroath and the American Declaration of Independence.