Castle House Museum

Museums

Castle Gardens, Dunoon, Argyll, PA23 7HH

    Castle House Museum is a historic building set in gardens opposite Dunoon Pier.

    Exhibits, models and photographs tell the story of Dunoon from the Neolithic to the present day such as Highland Mary's Cottage, a Victorian schoolroom, homage to Harry Lauder and the Clyde in Wartime. There is also disabled access and a gift shop.

    Open Easter to October.  Monday to Saturday, 10.30am until 4.30pm.  Sundays 2pm until 4.30pm.

    Castle House Museum is situated on the hill overlooking Dunoon Pier.  The Castle House itself was built by Lord Provost James Ewing of Glasgow in 1822. Until 1975, Castle House was the Chambers of Dunoon Town Council before housing the former public library.  It is solely dependent on funding from admission fees, shop sales (net) and donations.

    - Neolithic Cowal

    - Highland Heritage

    - Victorian Dunoon

    - Historical Reconstructions

    - Clyde Steamers

    - Yacht Building

    - Wartime Cowal

    - Nostalgic Photographs

    - Video Presentations

    - Historical Help and Advice

    - Museum Shop

    Step back in time and see how we used to live!

    Gradings
    3 Museum
    Opening Times
    Open All Year
    2014 Opening Times
    1 Jan 2014 - 31 Dec 2014

    Children

    • Children Welcome

    Transport

    • Disabled Parking

    Leisure Facilities

    • Gift Shop

    Public Transport Directions

    Getting there by ferry:- From Dunoon Ferry Terminal, Castle House is directly opposite.

    Transport within Scotland

    For public transport information to visit here from within Scotland, enter your postcode and visit date below.

    Journey Planner
    Share

    What's Nearby

    Recently Viewed