This award winning eco-building houses the Lismore Gaelic heritage museum, thatched cottage, Cafe and Gift Shop.
Lismore Gaelic Heritage Centre was built by Comann Eachdraidh Lios Mor - which translates as Lismore Historical Society. The present site was opened in 2007. It consists of a museum, a rebuilt cottars cottage, a reference and lending library with internet access, a meeting room, gift shop, toilets, disabled access and disabled toilet and the Isle of Lismore Cafe. This typical 'cottar's' - house (circa 18th/19th Century) celebrated its rebirth on the 19th August 2002. Faithfully rebuilt, it is a look back in time at our islands past and an illustration of the traditional skills which many islanders have.
Lismore Gaelic Heritage Centre is also known as " lonad Naomh Moluag" in Gaelic which translates as "The gathering place of St Moluag".
A Community enterprise in an award -winning eco-building.
Museum exhibition - discover the history of Lismore
Taigh Iseabhail Dhaidh - Thatched Cottars' Cottage 1850-1890
Isle Of Lismore Cafe - snacks and hearty meals using locally sourced ingredients
Gift shop - local crafts and quality Scottish gifts
Genealogy Centre - for genealogy enquiries - please email email@example.com
Open 7 days a week from April 1st 2012 till end of October 2012 - Adults £3.50, Children under 16 are admitted free and must be accompanied by an adult. Tickets are valid for 5 days. Members have free entry at all times..
For opening times, special events and new displays see www.isleoflismore.com or www.museumgalleriesscotland.org.uk/member/Lismore-heritage-centre