Discover the life of Sir Walter Scott and the history of Selkirk at Sir Walter Scott’s Courtroom.
Built in 1803 as the Sheriff Court, this is where Sir Walter Scott, author of such classics as The Heart of Midlothian and Rob Roy, dispensed justice to the people of Selkirkshire.
Explore Scott's life, his writings and his time as sheriff. Displays tell the story of 'The Ettrick Shepherd' James Hogg and explorer Mungo Park.
Facilities also include a small shop selling gifts, souvenirs and books. The building is on one floor and is accessible to disabled visitors. There is also a toilet facility including a disabled toilet.