St Marys Episcopal Cathedral Built in 1879 to the design of Sir George Gilbert Scott, St Mary's is one of the world's great neo-Gothic buildings.
Its three spires, clearly visible from Princes St, form a powerful ensemble that dominates the West End skyline; close up, the Cathedral rejoices in a wealth of ornate and symbolic detail, the evidence of flourishing craftsmanship. Highlights of the interior include stained glass by Paolozzi, Rood Cross by Robert Lorimer (part of the National War Memorial) and Oldrid Scott's high altar reredos featuring a carved Crucifixion by Mary Grant of Kilgraston. Organ by 'Father' Willis 1879, rebuilt by Harrison & Harrison of Durham. The Cathedral's internationally renowned choir, unique in Scotland, sings daily services (5.30 weekdays, 10.30 and 3.30 Sundays). In the grounds stand Old Coates House (17th Century) and the Song School, famous for its recently restored murals, painted by Phoebe Anna Traquair, 1888-92 (free guided tours twice daily in August, otherwise by appointment).
Services: for full details contact the Cathedral Office on 0131 225 6293 or see www.cathedral.net