Right in Forfar's historic town centre is the Meffan, built in 1898 as a bequest from the daughter of Provost Meffan.
Originally Forfar's library and museum, the building is now a lively art gallery and museum. Every month new art exhibitions are staged, bringing to Forfar the work of a range of contemporary Scottish artists. Two galleries are devoted to these ever changing exhibitions.
Another two galleries explore ‘The Forfar Story’. A stunning collection of Pictish Stones are displayed so both front and rear of these enigmatic sculptured stones can be closely examined. An interactive screen guides the visitor through every Pictish stone found in Angus. Models of two archaeologists are seen excavating a log canoe dated to the 11th century, around the time of King Malcolm Canmore and his saintly Queen Margaret enjoyed their stays at Forfar Loch, feasting and hunting.
The visitor can next wander through time down an old narrow cobbled street called The Vennel. They can peer into a knockmaker's workshop, see linen being woven by a weaver, drool over bread, and of course, bridies at the bakers. The last shop on the street is Peter Reid's sweetie shop with its famous Forfar Rock.
Finally the visitor steps into a crowd staring in awe, horror, at a witch about to be strangled and burnt. Forfar had a dark period in its history where several women were accused of witchcraft.
Today this building is much loved by the community with many clubs and societies meeting here. The museum is gradually developing events and activities.