Situated at the head of Strathnaver Valley, Bettyhill was one of 64 communities that populated the area before the Sutherland clearances in the early 19th century.
Bettyhill or 'An Bloran Odor' in Gaelic, has a population of about 490. Once known as Bettyhill of Farr and founded originally as a fishing and agricultural centre. Today this crofting community, set among rocky green hills, straggles along the side of a narrow tidal estuary, and down the coast to two splendid beaches, which in the past had the functions of a small port, market and resort above Torrisdale Bay.
The village grew as a settlement in the early 19th century when many of the tenants of the Duke of Sutherland were evicted from their inland straths to crofting plots on the coasts. The original village is beyond the sands of Farr Bay. The raised beach contains archaeological sites and a horse trekking centre provides an opportunity for everyone to experience the beauty and remoteness of one of Sutherland's finest beaches from horseback.
East, in a sheltered basin, are the older parts of the village. The St Columba's Parish Church of Farr is now the Strathnaver Museum. Farr Church was built in 1774 and at the time could accommodate 750 people. By 1882, clearance, emigration and splits in the church meant that the upper galleries could be removed. It was converted into a museum in the 1970s. The museum tells the story of Clan Mackay and of the 19th century clearances.