St Andrews Castle is the ruins of the castle of the Archbishops of St Andrews, dating in part from the 13th century.
The Sea Tower (Bottle Dungeon) is currently closed for conservation works.
On a headland to the north of St Andrews stand the ruins of the city's castle, the main residence of the bishops and archbishops of St Andrews and the focal point of the church in medieval Scotland.
Explore the underground 16th-century siege mine and counter-mine, and the 'bottle dungeon', one of the most infamous castle prisons in medieval Britain, which was cut out of the solid rock. John Knox and George Wishart may have been imprisoned in this dank and airless space, and this is where its believed Cardinal Beaton’s body was kept when he was murdered in 1546.
There is a visitor centre, with wheelchair access, and a display with multi-sensory aspects for visitors with visual impairments. There is no access to the bottle dungeon, mines or upper floors of the castle for visitors using wheelchairs or with limited mobility.
Very occasionally the property has to close at short notice due to adverse weather conditions or other reasons out with our control. Please check the Historic Scotland closures page for any unexpected site closures https://www.historicenvironment.scot/visit-a-place/check-for-closures/. You can also follow closure tweets from @welovehistory using #hsclosure. Alternatively please call the site before setting off to check they are open.