The Palace that never was.
“By kind permission of the Duke of Buccleuch & Queensberry,
and the Trustees of the Buccleuch Living Heritage Trust”.
A magnificent wooden architectural model of Dalkeith Palace, built by George Meikle Kemp (1795-1844). The model took two years to build from 1831-1832.
Kemp was engaged by architect William Burn (1789-1870), who worked for The Duke of Buccleuch, to build the model from Burn's architectural drawings of a plan to revamp Dalkeith Palace.
Sadly the revamp of the Palace was never achieved.
George Meikle Kemp was born at Hillriggs, Biggar. A monument to celebrate the 200th anniversary of his birth was positioned by Biggar and Upper Clydesdale Museum, on the hill overlooking where the family had lived.
From very lowly beginnings George went on to become one of Scotland's most famous self taught architects by winning a competition to design a monument to celebrate the life of the recently deceased Sir Walter Scott. This iconic monument still exists today on Princes Street Edinburgh.
In 1993, Patrick Baxter Furniture in Auchengray, was asked by Richard, The Earl of Dalkeith, now His Grace The Duke of Buccleuch, to look into restoring the architectural model. During the 20th Century the model had been sadly neglected despite valiant efforts by Buccleuch staff to maintain and keep the model secure. It took Patrick and his team approx 3000 hours until 2001 to research and complete the restoration of the model.
Transport and Parking
The content of many of our web listings is provided by third party operators and not VisitScotland. VisitScotland accepts no responsibility for (1) any error or misrepresentation contained in third party listings, and (2) the contents of any external links within web listings ((1) and (2) together hereinafter referred to as the "Content"). VisitScotland excludes all liability for loss or damage caused by any reliance placed on the Content. The Content is provided for your information only and is not endorsed by VisitScotland.