Castle House Museum is a historic building set in gardens opposite Dunoon Pier.
Exhibits, models and photographs tell the story of Dunoon from the Neolithic to the present day such as Highland Mary's Cottage, a Victorian schoolroom, homage to Harry Lauder and the Clyde in Wartime. There is also disabled access and a gift shop.
Castle House Museum is situated on the hill overlooking Dunoon Pier. The Castle House itself was built by Lord Provost James Ewing of Glasgow in 1822. Until 1975, Castle House was the Chambers of Dunoon Town Council before housing the former public library. It is solely dependent on funding from admission fees, shop sales (net) and donations.
- Neolithic Cowal
- Highland Heritage
- Victorian Dunoon
- Historical Reconstructions
- Clyde Steamers
- Yacht Building
- Wartime Cowal
- Nostalgic Photographs
- Video Presentations
- Historical Help and Advice
- Museum Shop
Step back in time and see how we used to live!
Getting there by ferry:- From Dunoon Ferry Terminal, Castle House is directly opposite.
Accessible Parking Or Drop-off Point
The content of many of our web listings is provided by third party operators and not VisitScotland. VisitScotland accepts no responsibility for (1) any error or misrepresentation contained in third party listings, and (2) the contents of any external links within web listings ((1) and (2) together hereinafter referred to as the "Content"). VisitScotland excludes all liability for loss or damage caused by any reliance placed on the Content. The Content is provided for your information only and is not endorsed by VisitScotland.