Welcome to Castle Menzies: visitor attraction, museum, clan centre and venue for weddings, concerts, corporate events and other hire. Full details are available on our website at www.castlemenzies.org
Castle Menzies is a spectacular sixteenth century Scottish castle, restored during the twentieth century by the Menzies Clan Society.
Architecturally fascinating, the Castle is a splendid Renaissance example of the transition in Scottish castles from earlier rugged Highland fortresses to later mansion houses.
The Castle was the seat of the Chiefs of Clan Menzies for over 400 years. Situated in a strategic location, it was involved in much of the turbulent history of the Highlands. During the second Jacobite rising the Castle hosted both Bonnie Prince Charlie, who rested on his way to Culloden in 1746 and, just four days later, the Duke of Cumberland, son of the British Monarch and commander of the Government forces.
Rescued as a ruin in 1957 by the then recently re-formed Menzies Clan Society, the Castle has been lovingly restored by generations of Society members and was placed into a charitable trust in 1993.
We are open to all as a visitor attraction, museum, Clan centre for the Menzies Clan and venue for weddings, concerts and other hire.
All proceeds are exclusively used for the continued restoration and maintenance of the Castle, its Walled Garden and the Old Kirk of Weem.