Colzium Estate lies to the north-east of Kilsyth and features a mansion house, visitor centre, garden cafe, walled garden, adventure playground and ruined castle.
There is so much to explore at the Colzium Lennox Estate. Enjoy parkland with a wealth of flora and fauna, pathways, a challenging children’s adventure playground, not to mention a beautiful walled garden and water features .Following the renovations in 2017, the former Clock Theatre adjoining the walled garden has been converted into a visitor centre and garden cafe. Why not relax alfresco and take the time to enjoy a freshly brewed coffee on our cafe terrace in the tranquil setting of the walled garden. With details about the estate and area’s rich history, walks and trails, the centre is the ‘hub’ for finding out more about the estate and the ideal starting point for exploring the wider Kelvin Valley. We welcome you to take time to learn more about its colourful past and discover its natural beauty. The centre and cafe is seasonal and will be open from April to September.
The Colzium Lennox Estate is rich in history and is open throughout the year. Features of the estate include the excavated remains of a 15th Century L-plan tower house, once the seat of the Livingstons of Linlithgow but demolished in 1703. Nearby is a traditional Scottish ice-house c.1680 which has been restored and is open for public inspection.
Colzium House was once the seat of the Edmonstone family but became the property of the Burgh of Kilsyth after the Second World War. Built in 1783, it was substantially enlarged in 1861. Much of the original building was pulled down in the late 1940s but the Victorian frontage and wings survive to form the house we see today.
Within the house, you'll find Colzium House Museum, converted out of the former chapel. Displays relate to the heritage of the surrounding area and include objects from the nearby castles of Colzium and Kilsyth as well as photographs and artefacts from the domestic and industrial settings of the locality. The house and museum are open by appointment only. Please contact us to arrange your visit.
Other local historic features around the estate include the site of Kilsyth Castle, to the west of Colzium House by Allanfauld Road. Another 15th Century tower house, it survived until 1650 when it was attacked and burnt by Cromwell’s troops as they advanced north. The remains provided the district with a free quarry for many years. Some carved stonework is now in Colzium House museum.
To the east of the estate are Banton Loch and the village of Banton, with its historic Swan Inn. The area formed the site of the 17th Century Battle of Kilsyth and was latterly known for its Victorian brickworks, samples of which are in the museum.
With all this at hand, there's never been a better time to visit.
The estate is free to visit and open 7 days a week. For details of opening times, room hire, group vsits and to find out more about the estate and surrounding area, please contact us.