Perhaps the most beautiful of all the Border Abbeys, the ruins of Dryburgh Abbey are remarkably complete and surrounded by beautiful grounds.
The grounds are now open and free of charge. The abbey remains closed for now.
First established in 1150, Dryburgh Abbey became the premier house in Scotland of the Premonstratensian order and today continues to have peaceful atmosphere.
Despite having been set on fire three times, the chapter house features paintwork that dates back to its construction and today boasts some of the best Gothic architecture in Scotland.
These graceful ruins became the burial place of David Eskrine, 11th Earl of Buchan in 1829, and three years later his friend Sir Walter Scott was also buried here.
Access to the property is through the main gates. It is a flat approach to the abbey, which can be entered without using steps. Most of the abbey, apart from the cloisters, is accessible.
Very occasionally the property has to close at short notice due to adverse weather conditions or other reasons out with our control. Please check the Historic Scotland closures page for any unexpected site closures https://www.historicenvironment.scot/visit-a-place/check-for-closures/ . You can also follow closure tweets from @welovehistory using #hsclosure. Alternatively please call the site before setting off to check they are open.