Visit this small ruin perched on a hill near Oban which was once a formidable stronghold of Clan MacDougall.
For more that 1000 years, the Clan Chiefs and Lords of Lorn ruled large areas of Argyll from Dunollie. Today, it remains the seat and ancestral home of Clan MacDougall.
The Museum, Castle and Grounds provide an exciting journey of discovery, where visitors of all ages can learn about the history of the castle, the noble MacDougall family and life on the west coast of Scotland through exciting exhibitions and displays.
Discover the 1745 Laird's House which holds the fascinating history of the the MacDougall Family and Servants Quarters, including the Nationally renound Hope MacDougall Collection. Explore Dunollie's enchanting woodland spaces; Woodland Trail, World of Trees, the spectacular Willow Hall and mischevious Faerie Garden. Visit the Castle Ruin and take in stunning views across Oban Bay. Have a peek inside the Weaving Cottage to see a 19th century loom at work. Relax and absorb the atmosphere as you enjoy delicious homemade soup, sandwiches and cakes and shop for beautiful locally made gifts.
For information on our daily summer activities including piping and tours or special events, please visit the website.
Opening Times: Open 25th March 2016 - 23rd October 2016
Monday - Saturday 10.00am – 4.00pm
Sunday 1.00pm – 4.00pm
(limited opening hours October – December, please check website for details of winter activities and events).
Adults: £5.50 Children (5 - 15): £2.80 Under 5's: Free Conc: £4.40
(Family and Season tickets are also available)
How to get there
Dunollie is a pleasant 15 minute walk from the centre of Oban down the woodland trail which starts at the Corran Hall or two minutes’ drive from the centre of Oban, following signs for Ganavan. Parking provided (sorry no coaches)