Eyemouth Museum is based in the Auld Kirk building in the centre of the town and traces the area’s fishing and social heritage.
The history of Eyemouth is brought to life at the museum through a series of exhibits and stories from local people. It houses a unique tapestry created to commemorate the centenary of the Great East Coast Fishing Disaster of 1881, also known as Black Friday, when the community suffered the loss of 189 local fishermen at sea. The tapestry took two years to complete and was hand crafted by 24 local Eyemouth women. There is also a highly emotive and thought provoking 'Picket Men' installation, by artist Emma McKenzie of 129 clay figures representing the 129 Eyemouth men who were lost.
Eyemouth Fort, built in 1547,was one of the first Trace Italienne fortifications built in Britain. The original fort was constructed by English troops following the short war known as the “Rough Wooing”. You can learn more about the history of the fort and the extensive provisioning of the fort by the French and Scots during a virtual reality tour of Eyemouth Museum.
There are lots of fun things for the Children including a junior quiz for under 8s, hunt the fish, dressing up clothes, guess the objects cabinet, colouring sheets and a reading corner. The whole family can also explore the family trail.
The museum is also on the ground floor and fully accessible for the less abled.
The museum also houses a first floor gallery, which showcases temporary exhibitions of local interest throughout the season, a well stocked gift shop and a VisitScotland Visitor Information Centre.
Further information about the museum includes: