G&AHC is home to important collections covering the social and cultural history of the dynastic family's who owned the land on which Glenrothes, Fife's Administrational Capital was built in 1948.
Family's such as the Leslie-Rothes'; of John, Duke of Rothes, appointed by Charles II as Lord High Chancellor of Britain. Of his descendent, Noel, the 'Plucky Little Countess' of Titanic fame. Of Rob Roy McGregor who looted nearby Balgonie Castle; of Cardinal Beaton who lived in Milton of Balgonie. G&AHC also hold the archives (photographic and artefact) of the world-reknowned papermaking giants Tullis & Russell together with that of other major contributors to the history to the area.
Founded and built on lush agricultural land, once owned by the Duke and Earls of Rothes and Balfours of Balbirnie, Glenrothes, Scotland's most successful post-war New Town was created and for 30yrs Fife's Administrational Capital. The town has much to offer visitors interested in planning, award-winning architecture and town art plus two golf-courses within the town and another 98 on its doorstep!
Inland from the coastal routes, there is much to see and learn of the mining, spinning & weaving industries, plastics and papermaking industries.
The Heritage Centre is located within the Kingdom Shopping Centre, Glenrothes, in the Heart of Fife. By Car 35mins from Edinburgh, 30mins from Dundee, 20mins from St.Andrews. Opening Hours: 11am to 3.30pm (Tues to Saturday) Free Entry.