New Laigh Kirk is an 'A' listed building with many unique features and attracts visitors from within the UK and from abroad. The stained glass windows are of national importance and there are links to Robert Burns and to the Covenanters.
New Laigh Kirk, situated in the centre of Kilmarnock is a vibrant and large congregation of the Church of Scotland. It was the first Church in Kilmarnock following the reformation in 1560 although the present building dates from 1802 following the tragic events which took place on the afternoon of Sunday 18 October 1801. The Church was packed for worship when some plaster fell from the ceiling and panic ensued. Thirty people died in the rush to get out. The Church was demolished and rebuilt in 1802 with wide staircases to the gallery and many exits. Laigh Kirk is mentioned by Robert Burns in his poems and he is believed to have visited the Church. Covenanters gravestones are in the Churchyard. For many visitors the highlight is the magnificent stained glass windows which have recently been cleaned and restored.