Cared for by the National Trust for Scotland. Newhailes is one of the most impressive 17th century Palladian villas in Scotland. Home to peaceful woodland walks, extensive structural and decorative detailing and once one of the most impressive private libraries in Scotland, it is widely regarded as a prominent historical fixture in the Scottish Enlightenment.
With its origins in the 17th century, Newhailes was owned from 1709 by the influential Dalrymple family. Ownership was passed down over several generations of the family, with substantial additions in the first half of the 18th century. It was continuously inhabited by the Dalrymples for nearly 300 years, until it was acquired by the National Trust for Scotland in 1997.
Take a walk in the 86 acres of tranquil and stunning grounds to see if you can find the 18th-century tea house, the mysterious shell grotto, the Ladies’ Walk – an elevated promenade designed to lift both body and mind –and the recently restored 18th century ha-ha separating the lawn from the traditional grazing parkland. There are several paths and informative signage to help visitors take everything in.
Children will love running around the amazing new adventure play park, Weehailes, which will remind visitors of something they might find in a children's fairy tale book. The play park has specifically been themed around the Newhailes House story, and also features the recently restored 17th century Doocot, and the Doocot Diner - where visitors can get hot food, drinks and snacks. Indoor seating is available in the Glasshouse, originally part of the kitchen garden.
Please note that as of February 2019 the Stables Courtyard (which normally houses the main Café and Shop) and Newhailes House will be closed as the team undergo building and conservation works to improve facilities and protect the historic buildings. Weehailes, the Doocot Diner, and the wider estate remain fully open and accessible.