There has been a mill on this site since the 16th century, and the present stone buildings date from the 18th century.
The conical roofed kiln and attractive red pantiled buildings make Preston Mill a popular haunt for photographers and artists, while the nearby millpond with resident ducks and geese provides the finishing touches to an idyllic countryside spot.
The water-wheel and the grain milling machinery it powers are relatively modern and the mill was still used commercially until 1959. Visitors can see and hear the mechanisms in action and find out about the working life of a miller. Exhibition on milling and display on history of Preston Mill and the people who lived and worked here.
Phantassie Doocot, a short walk away, once held 500 birds.
Access to mill building by guided tour only, which run approximately every 45 minutes. Booking essential for groups of 10 or more to avoid disappointment.