St. Ninian's Scottish Episcopal Church was designed by the architect Alexander Ross and consecrated in 1853. With a lovely setting on the north shore of Loch Meiklie in Glen Urquhart, this little church features a crowstepped east gable, and a crowstepped bellcote at its west end. The church itself has simple lancet windows, while the vestry has a V-plan oriel window in the south wall. The entrance door is set in a rounded archway, which may include earlier masonry. The rafter and arch-braced roof features a tie beam at the chancel with a Gaelic inscription.
An Early Christian cross slab is incorporated into the altar. It came originally from Temple, at the mouth of Glen Urquhart, the probable site of an early church associated with Saint Ninian. The cross slab may possibly date from the 4th. century AD.
The carpets in the sanctuary were designed by George Bain, the artist who discovered the techniques of Celtic art such as knotwork and interlace. They are known as his Hunting Rugs, and feature Celtic motifs and animals.
Visitors are welcome at all services (see our website www.stniniansglenurquhart.wordpress.com for details), and the church is open all the time. Visitors can also enjoy a walk in the grounds by the lochside, where there is a picnic table.