A unique venue for archive, local and family history services, educational and cultural events, conferences and weddings.
Our vast collections and staff expertise make the Centre an essential destination for anyone with an interest in East Ayrshire’s heritage. Individuals, groups, and organisations are welcome to visit the Local History Service at the Centre during opening hours.
At our heart is W. G. Stevenson’s statue of Robert Burns, which was the centrepiece of the original Kilmarnock Monument unveiled in 1879 in the Kay Park. Much of the original monument was destroyed by fire in 2004 but the statue survived. The remains of the monument were restored and incorporated into the new custom-built Centre in 2009.
We hold major collections of printed material on Ayrshire and Robert Burns, official and non-official archives of the area, and comprehensive family history resources. We work closely with East Ayrshire Council Registration Services to deliver an outstanding family history service, with access to Scotland’s People records from 1513 to the present day.