Holding over 8000 books, from the 18th century to the present, Westerkirk Parish Library is the oldest library still in use in Scotland.
Located in the village of Bentpath, Westerkirk Parish Library was founded in 1793 by the miners at Jamestown. However, when the mine closed in 1799-1800, the library moved to the village school, before later moving again in 1840 to where it stands today.
Beside the library stands a memorial to the world-class stone mason Thomas Telford, who left £1,000 in his will to the library which grew to £2,700 with interest when his estate was finally settled.
In 1992 a project started to restore the library building and book stock to its former glory - this took five years to complete. Today the library has records which go back to over 200 hundred years ago and give you a fascinating insight into the reading habits of this rural town.
Admission is free. However, please note the opening times are limited and borrowing of books is restricted to people living in the parish of Westerkirk and the adjoining parishes of the surrounding villages.