The Birks of Aberfeldy is a circular walk through mature mixed woodland on the western outskirts of Aberfeldy.
Originally called the Dens of Moness, the birks (from the Scots for birch trees) overlook the Falls of Moness and lines the slopes of the Moness gorge.
The Birks of Aberfeldy were named after a poem of the same name by Scotland’s national bard, Robert Burns, who penned The Birks o’Aberfeldie in 1787.
Visitors can follow the well defined path which is overhung by mature trees from where they can admire the birch, oak, ash and elm trees. The path also offers excellent views to the roaring white water of the falls and, during winter, across to Strathtay.
Much of the gorge is designated as a Site of Special Scientific Interest for its botanical features and it is likely that there has been continual woodland cover at the site for up to 8,000 years. The gorge is a place of immense natural power and beauty in any season but perhaps most photogenic in the cooler days of late autumn.