Cupar is a town and former royal burgh in Fife.
Located alongside the small River Eden and surrounded by gentle hills, Cupar was once a bustling market centre. Today, this picturesque town has retained much of its medieval character.
The town boasts a number of fine historic buildings including the 17th century Preston Lodge, Chancellor's House, the Corn Exchange, the Old Parish Church and the Mercat Cross which dates from 1683.
Make time to visit the Hill of Tarvit, an Edwardian mansion 2 miles south of the town that was remodelled by Sir Robert Lorimer. The entire estate was bequeathed to the National Trust for Scotland in 1949, and the house contains an impressive collection of 18th century Chippendale and French furniture, Dutch paintings, Chinese porcelain and a restored Edwardian laundry.
The Scottish Deer Centre is nearby.