Drummond Hill lies six miles west of Aberfeldy, forms part of Tay Forest Park, and is thought to be the site of Scotland’s first managed forest.
The forested slopes of Drummond Hill dominate the surrounding landscape and provide a fine backdrop to Taymouth Castle and the village of Kenmore, close to the entrance to the forest. The hill was planted in the early seventeenth century by the ruthless Black Duncan (also known as Sir Duncan Campbell), the laird of Breadalbane.
The predominance of pine in the upper parts of the forest made it a good choice for the re-introduction of the capercaillie to Scotland in 1837, following its extinction by over-hunting and forest clearance. Although in national decline, the Drummond Hill forest popular of capercaillie is thriving.
In an elevated position on the north-east shoulder of Drummond Hill stands Caisteal MacTuathal, an Iron Age promontory hill fort. From this ancient fort there are clear views down Strathtay and towards Schiehallion and the fort is part of a network of hill forts in across Strathtay.
Just after the First World War Drummond Hill was one of the first purchases of the Forestry Commission, created to take on the huge task of replanting forests cleared after the war effort.
Today visitors can enjoy several moderate waymarked walks such as the Black Rock Walk and the Taymouth Walk. Off-road cyclists are also welcome.