The ferry port town of Gourock sits on the south bank of the Firth of Clyde, 28 miles west of Glasgow.
Gourock’s ice cream parlours and open-air waterfront swimming pool recall its days as a popular day-trip destination for Glaswegians. The open-air pool is one of only three remaining in Scotland and was refurbished in 2010. Kempock Street has a variety of traditional shops and is Gourock's main shopping street. Just behind Kempock Street lies Granny Kempock’s Stone, a 6ft monolith that is reputed to bring good luck to newlyweds and passing sailors who walk around it seven times. Other landmarks include Castle Mansions and St John's Church, whose distinctive steeple dominates over Gourock. The town also contains Castle Levan, a fortified tower house dating from the 14th century. The castle now runs as a bed & breakfast and is rumoured to be haunted. Gourock also has a golf club and is home to the Royal Gourock Yacht Club.
There are superb views from Gourock across the Clyde Estuary to the mountains of the south-west Highlands. Visitors can enjoy walks along the Ashton Front promenade. Three miles west of Gourock lies Cloch Point, where there is a lighthouse that dates from 1797. Regular ferries run from Gourock to Dunoon, Kilcreggan and Helensburgh. A ferry service also runs from McInroy's Point on the west side of town to Hunters Quay, home to such attractions as the Royal Marine Hotel and the 'Jim Crow' painted rock. Gourock railway station is located at the Pierhead and provides services to Paisley, Glasgow and Wemyss Bay while a number of local bus services connect the town to the surrounding area.