L'Écosse a accueilli certains des tournois de golf les plus excitants de l'histoire, du tout premier Open britannique à Prestwick en 1860 à la célèbre Ryder Cup 2014 à Gleneagles.

Oui, les meilleurs golfeurs du monde préparent leurs clubs et enfilent leurs plus beaux gilets en tricot pour visiter la patrie du golf. Et pourquoi pas vous ! Ne manquez pas de jouer une partie de golf sur certains des parcours de tournoi emblématiques d'Écosse et suivez les traces des légendes du golf.

1. Royal Troon

Le parcours de golf du Royal TroonLe parcours de golf du Royal Troon © Ayrshire & Arran Tourism

Fondé en 1878, Royal Troon est considéré comme l'un des parcours links les plus difficiles au monde. Situé sur le superbe littoral de l'Ayrshire, une région parsemée d'incroyables parcours de golf, il a fièrement accueilli le prestigieux 145e Open en été 2016 .

Après avoir admiré ou joué quelques parties de golf, explorez la ville côtière de Troon et marchez le long de la promenade tranquille avec une crème glacée tout en admirant les bateaux au Troon Yacht Haven. Ici, vous pouvez aussi profiter d'un dîner au Scott's Bar & Restaurant avec vue sur la marina jusqu'à Arran et Ailsa Craig, ou déguster de délicieux fruits de mer au MacCallum's Oyster Bar.

2. Castle Stuart

Les parcours de Castle Stuart Golf LinksLes parcours de Castle Stuart Golf Links, près d'Inverness

Surplombant le Moray Firth, Castle Stuart est très populaire auprès des golfeurs du monde entier. En 2016, les meilleurs joueurs se sont retrouvés à l'Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open.

Pendant que vous jouez, ouvrez l'œil pour admirer les monuments comme le château de Castle Stuart, le phare de Chanonry et le pont de Kessock. Reposez-vous après une journée sur le green avec une escapade au spa club, ou une nuit à Inverness, notre ville la plus septentrionale. Parmi les incontournables pour gastronomes, on retrouve les restaurants jumeaux de The Kitchen et The Mustard Seed, deux établissements au bord de l'eau très élégants qui servent des plats européens à base de produits locaux avec une touche unique des Highlands.

3. Le Carrick à Cameron House, Loch Lomond

Le Loch KatrineLe Loch Katrine, dans le parc national du Loch Lomond et des Trossachs

Bordant le célèbre loch et tirant profit du paysage exceptionnellement varié, The Carrick at Cameron House a accueilli les évènements de l'Open écossais femme et de l'EuroPro par le passé. Attention : les alentours éblouissants pourraient vous distraire et vous faire manquer le putt parfait.

Après une partie sur le parcours, le Parc national du Loch Lomond et des Trossachs vous attend avec ses imposants munros, ses lochs scintillants et ses circuits de randonnée paisibles. Séjournez à la Cameron House pour goûter au vrai luxe, avec des soins dans un spa et plusieurs choix de repas, dont les menus étoilés au guide Michelin de Martin Wishart, à déguster en admirant la vue sur le loch étincelant.

4. Dundonald Links

Le parcours de golf Dundonald LinksLe parcours de golf Dundonald Links © Ayrshire & Arran Tourism

L'un des nouveaux parcours sur le circuit, frère du parcours du Loch Lomond, est le Dundonald Links qui a accueilli l'Aberdeen Asset Management Ladies Scottish Open en 2016. Dundonald est en bonne compagnie avec des parcours comme Prestwick et Royal Troon aux alentours. Le parcours représente un défi pour les golfeurs tous niveaux confondus, avec des fairways généreux, d'excellents équipements et même un bar douillet en prime.

Pour un peu d'histoire, visitez l'impressionnante tour d'habitation médiévale du château de Dundonald ou dégustez un bon repas à The Ship Inn, à quelques kilomètres de la ville d'Irvine, qui propose de nombreux plats traditionnels écossais.

5. Gullane

GullaneLe Gullane Golf Club, East Lothian © Richard Campbell

Un des plus beaux parcours de l'East Lothian, Gullane accueille des compétitions de golf endiablées depuis 350 ans, affichant fièrement ses trois parcours aux yeux du public. Sur Gullane n°1, admirez les vues sensationnelles sur Édimbourg et le Firth of Forth. N'oubliez pas de réserver à l'avance, il s'agit d'un parcours très populaire. Connu comme la côte écossaise du golf, l'East Lothian est parsemé de magnifiques parcours, alors essayez-en quelques-uns tant que vous y êtes.

Saisissez l'opportunité pour explorer encore plus l'East Lothian : visitez le fascinant musée de l'aviation Museum of Flight à East Fortune ou le magnifique château de Tantallon et promenez-vous sur le sable de North Berwick en admirant la vue sur Bass Rock. En été, profitez de fruits de mer fraichement ramassés au Lobster Shack, un restaurant pittoresque sur le port de North Berwick. Goûtez aux spécialités locales au Duck Inn douillet du village d'Aberlady.

6. Prestwick

Prestwick St NicholasLe Prestwick St Nicholas Golf Club, Ayrshire © AG Firth

L'illustre parcours a accueilli le tout premier Open britannique en 1860. Avec son terrain immaculé, ses greens ondoyants et ses trous parfaitement conçus, vous pourrez vous immerger dans l'histoire du golf au Prestwick Golf Club. Un cairn en pierre marque l'endroit où le premier tee a été planté lors de l'Open britannique. Il existe deux autres parcours tout près, le Prestwick St Nicholas (en photo) et le Prestwick St Cuthbert, chacun avec des défis de 18 trous.

Puisque vous visitez la ville, arrêtez-vous manger un morceau dans l'un des pubs ou restaurants ; Elliots propose un menu au choix varié et délicieux. N'oubliez pas d'explorer la côte merveilleuse de l'Ayrshire et de pratiquer votre swing sur d'autres parcours de golf dans la région. 

7. L'Old Course à St Andrews

Le 144e Open à St AndrewsLe 144e Open à St Andrews

Dernier parcours, mais non le moindre, l'Old Course à St Andrews est un incontournable pour tous les golfeurs. Le plus ancien parcours de golf public au monde a accueilli le 144e Open (en photo) l'année dernière et propose de nombreux défis, dont le célèbre Hell Bunker (bunker des enfers). Au crépuscule, n'oubliez pas de prendre un selfie sur le Swilcan Bridge !

St Andrews est une ville dédiée à ce sport, avec le British Golf Museum présentant l'histoire des premiers tournois de golf en Écosse. Pendant que vous êtes en ville, profitez d'un délicieux repas avec vue sur la mer à The Seafood Restaurant ou d'un hamburger au Jigger Inn, avant de finir la journée en beauté avec une nuit à l'Old Course Hotel.

Vous prévoyez de glorieuses vacances sur le golf en Écosse ? Trouvez plus d'informations sur les parcours de golf, les tournois et les passes, offres et circuits.

Scotland has played host to some of the most thrilling golf competitions in history, from the very first Open Championship at Prestwick in 1860 to the mighty 2014 Ryder Cup at Gleneagles.

Yes, the world's best golfers polish their best clubs and don their finest knitted vests to visit the Home of Golf. And, so can you! Don't miss a round of golf on some of Scotland's iconic championship courses, and follow in the footsteps of golfing legends.

1. Royal Troon

Royal Troon Golf CourseRoyal Troon Golf Course © Ayrshire & Arran Tourism

Founded in 1878, Royal Troon is considered one of the most challenging links courses in the world. Set within the beautiful Ayrshire coastline, an area dotted with incredible golf courses, in summer 2016 it proudly hosted the prestigious 145th Open.

After watching or playing some golf, explore the seaside town of Troon, and walk along the blissful promenade with an ice cream and admire the boats at Troon Yacht Haven. Here, you can also enjoy a lovely sit-down dinner at Scott's Bar & Restaurant overlooking the marina and with views towards Arran and Ailsa Craig, or sample some tasty seafood delights at the MacCallum's Oyster Bar.

2. Castle Stuart

Castle Stuart Golf LinksCastle Stuart Golf Links, near Inverness

Overlooking the Moray Firth, Castle Stuart has been a longtime favourite with golfers across the globe. In 2016, the game's finest players were in action at the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open.

As you play, look out for landmarks including Castle Stuart itself, Chanonry Lighthouse and Kessock Bridge. Relax after a day on the green with a trip to the club spa, or why not spend a night in Inverness, our most northerly city? Musts for foodies are sister restaurants The Kitchen and The Mustard Seed, both stylish riverside restaurants serving up locally-sourced European dishes with a unique Highland twist.

3. The Carrick at Cameron House, Loch Lomond

Loch KatrineLoch Katrine, within the Loch Lomond & The Trossachs National Park

Skirting the famous loch and making use of the uniquely varied landscape, The Carrick at Cameron House has hosted the Ladies Scottish Open and EuroPro Tour events in the past. Warning: the awe-inspiring surroundings might distract you from making the perfect putt.

After a round on the course, Loch Lomond & the Trossachs National Park awaits with its imposing Munros, sparkling lochs and serene walking trails. Stay over at the Cameron House for a taste of true luxury, with spa treatments and several dining options including Martin Wishart's Michelin-star menus overlooking the glistening loch.

4. Dundonald Links

Dundonald Links Ayrshire Dundonald Links Golf Course, Ayrshire © Mark Alexander

Loch Lomond’s ‘sister’ course Dundonald Links proudly hosted the Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open and the AAM Ladies Scottish Open in 2017 - the first time in history that both events have been played on the same course back-to-back.

Designed by Kyle Phillips, the course gives a real test to all levels of golfer, with generous fairways, excellent facilities and even a cosy clubhouse to boot with magnificent views across to Arran. Dundonald is in great company with the likes of Prestwick and Royal Troon nearby, and is only around 40 minutes away from Glasgow Airport by car.

For a slice of history, visit the impressive medieval tower house Dundonald Castle or have a hearty meal at The Ship Inn, a few miles away in the town of Irvine, which offers traditional Scottish meals aplenty.

5. Gullane

GullaneGullane Golf Club, East Lothian © Richard Campbell

One of East Lothian's finest courses, Gullane has welcomed fierce golfing competition for 350 years, proudly showcasing its three courses to the public. On Gullane No.1, enjoy sensational views across to Edinburgh and the Firth of Forth. Remember to book in advance as playing here is always popular. Known as Scotland's Golf Coast, East Lothian is dotted with magnificent courses, so you can try a few while you're here.

Take the chance to explore more of East Lothian - make a visit to the fascinating Museum of Flight at East Fortune, visit the beautiful Tantallon Castle or wander along the sands at North Berwick and enjoy views across to the Bass Rock. During the summer months, enjoy some freshly-caught seafood at the Lobster Shack, a quaint eatery on North Berwick's harbour. Try out the local specialities at the cosy Duck Inn in the village of Aberlady.

6. Prestwick

Prestwick St NicholasPrestwick St Nicholas Golf Club, Ayrshire © AG Firth

This illustrious course hosted the first ever Open Championship in 1860. With its pristine terrain, undulating greens and perfectly-designed holes, at Prestwick Golf Club you can immerse yourself in golfing history. A stone cairn marks the spot where the first tee was struck in Open Championship golf. There are two other courses nearby, the Prestwick St Nicholas (pictured) and Prestwick St Cuthbert, both offering fabulous 18-hole tests.

Whilst you're visiting the town, stop for a bite to eat in one of the town's pubs or restaurants - Elliots serves up a variety of tasty options. Don't forget to explore more of the blissful Ayrshire coastline and practice your swing with more golf courses in the region. 

7. The Old Course at St Andrews

144th Open at St Andrews144th Open at St Andrews

Last but certainly not least, the Old Course at St Andrews is at the top of every golfer's bucket list. The oldest public golf course in the world hosted last year's 144th Open (pictured) and offers many challenges along way, including the notorious Hell Bunker. At sunset, don't forget to snap a selfie at the Swilcan Bridge!

St Andrews is a town dedicated to the game, with the British Golf Museum showcasing the early history of golf competition in Scotland. Whilst you're in town, don't miss a delicious meal overlooking the ocean at The Seafood Restaurant, or a burger at the Jigger Inn, before finishing the day in style with a night's stay at the Old Course Hotel.

Are you planning a glorious golfing holiday to Scotland? Check out more information on golf courses, tournaments and passes, offers and tours.