It is a fantastic venue for weddings and corporate functions. This is a historic six hundred year old Border fighting tower which has been added to over the centuries by the three major Scottish families who have lived there. The present owner Alexander Hay of Duns, married to Aline, descends from the first Earl of Tweeddale who bought the estates of Duns and Drummelzier in Peebleshire in 1696 for his first son by his second marriage, William Hay, who married the Lady Elizabeth Seton, related by ancestry to Mary Seton, the lady-in-waiting to Mary Queen of Scots.
For three centuries the Hay family have made Duns their home, and it is furnished from the 17th Century onwards with paintings and furniture reflecting the rich tapestry of Scottish life since that time, Dutch, French, English, and native Scottish. Although modernized to be warm and comfortable the timelessness and serenity of its atmosphere is unique. Guests are welcomed into what is a living home.
The area is full of cultural, archeological and leisure interest and conveniently the house is five minutes from the little town of Duns although totally screened from it. Edinburgh is less than one hour away, (including airport) and for tourism and golf, the east coast towns of Berwick-on-Tweed, Eyemouth, North Berwick and Dunbar are within easy reach.
The main dining room is the principal 14th century chamber, richly paneled and carved. The drawing room looks over landscaped lawns and lake, and there are 1100 acres of fields, woods and hills to roam in. Roe deer, pheasants and ground game are in abundance. Staffing and catering are in-house. There are 12 bedrooms, 10 bathrooms, most ensuite.