Willkommen bei Tour Guide Tales, einem spannenden neuen Podcast, in dem Sie Schottlands großartige Geschichte von den Menschen hören, die sie am besten kennen, den wunderbaren Tourguides im Land.

Lauschen Sie unserem Gastgeber Grant Stott und den erfahrenen Guides und Geschichtenerzählern, die ihre faszinierenden Geschichten und von ihren persönlichen Erfahrungen erzählen. In jedem Podcast teilt ein Tourguide aus einer anderen Region seine Geschichten mit Ihnen. So bekommen Sie einen Einblick in die vielfältige und oft unglaublich reiche Geschichte, die es so nur in Schottland gibt - und das von den Menschen, die am meisten darüber wissen und am besten davon erzählen können.

Der erste Podcast mit Mary's Meanders dreht sich um Edinburgh und die Lothians und enthüllt einige der unglaublichen, aber wahren Geschichten hinter den Orten, die in der TV-Serie Outlander vorkommen. Weitere Folgen werden die Geheimnisse von Glasgow Central Station, Orkneys jungsteinzeitliche Sehenswürdigkeiten und, mithilfe des Scottish Maritime Museum in Irvine, auch unsere unglaublichen Küsten und Gewässer unter die Lupe nehmen.

Folge 1 - Drehorte von Outlander mit Mary's Meanders

Haben Sie sich jemals gefragt, welche Geschichten hinter den berühmten Drehorten von Outlander stecken? In unserer ersten Folge von Tour Guide Tales spricht Grant mit Emma Chalmers und Anne Daly von Mary's Meanders. Ihre Tour bringt Fans der TV-Serie Outlander zu einigen der berühmtesten Orte aus der Serie. Schalten Sie ein und erfahren Sie mehr über die wahre Vergangenheit dieser unglaublichen Orte und ihre großartigen Geschichten.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 1.

Folge 2 - Das Wallace Monument

In der zweiten Folge von Tour Guide Tales hören wir die Geschichte des Beschützers von Schottland, Sir William Wallace. Grant findet im Gespräch mit Ken Thomson vom National Wallace Monument, heraus, welche Geschichte hinter einer der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten Schottlands steht und welchen alten und neuen Nationalhelden hier gedacht wird.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 2.

Folge 3 - Blair Castle

In dieser Folge unterhält Grant sich mit Mo Tracey von Blair Castle. Von königlichen Entführungen und Königin Victorias Privatarmee bis hin zur letzten Belagerung Schottlands: Wir erfahren alles darüber, was diese märchenhafte Burg in den letzten 800 Jahren zu einem so faszinierenden Ort machte und warum ihre Geschichte bis heute so viele Menschen aus der ganzen Welt anzieht - darunter auch einige recht berühmte Persönlichkeiten.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 3.

Folge 4 - Eine kurze Geschichte des Schutzhelms

In dieser Folge spricht Grant zur Feier des schottischen Jahrs der Küsten und Gewässer mit Stuart Rich vom Scottish Maritime Museum. Das Museum bewahrt an seinen beiden Standorten in Irvine und Dumbarton die reiche Geschichte eines der Grundsteine von Schottlands industrieller Vergangenheit, nämlich die der Schifffahrts- und Schiffsbauindustrie. Wir erfahren mehr darüber, wie das Leben für Familien war, die in den rauen Werften arbeiteten, und welchen Einfluss diese Industrie auf das Schottland des 20. Jahrhunderts hatte, und hören großartige Geschichten zu einigen der Schiffe, die heute zum Museum gehören.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 4.

Folge 5 - Mercat Tours

Sie möchten mehr über die blutige und gruselige Vergangenheit von Edinburgh erfahren? In dieser Folge von Tour Guide Tales unterhält Grant sich mit Tania Dron, einer der Tourguides von Mercat Tours in der schottischen Hauptstadt. Von Eifersuchtsmorden und verstümmelten Geistern bin hin zu Hexenprozessen und Tricksereien am Galgen - Sie werden die Straßen von Edinburgh mit ganz anderen Augen sehen.

*Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Folge stellenweise makabre Themen behandelt, darunter Folter und Tod. Hören Sie diese Folge auf eigene Verantwortung.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 5.

Folge 6 - Kilmartin Glen

Schottland hat eine reichte Geschichte zu bieten, die sehr weit zurückreicht. In dieser Folge reisen wir mit Alan Steele, einem Tourguide im Kilmartin Glen, 6.000 Jahre zurück. Kilmartin Glen ist ein Ort von großer archäologischer Bedeutung im Westen Schottlands. Wir sprechen über die prähistorischen Zivilisationen, die einst dort lebten, und was heute noch von ihnen übrig ist. Es gibt viel zu besprechen, denn Kilmartin Glen hat auf weniger als 10 km mehr als 800 sehenswerte Orte zu bieten. Reisen Sie mit unserem Gastgeber Grant Stott in der Zeit zurück und lauschen Sie den unglaublichen Tour Guide Tales aus dem Kilmartin Glen.

Lesen Sie das Transkript von Folge 6.

Folge 7 - Die Äußeren Hebriden

Diese Woche spricht Grant mit Tourguide Magaidh Smith von der Isle of Lewis in den Äußeren Hebriden. Sechs Generationen ihrer Familie stammen von den Hebriden und es ist faszinierend, ihrem unglaublichen Wissen über die reiche Kultur, die Traditionen und die Gemeinden der Äußeren Hebriden zu lauschen. Von Mondgottheiten und Steinkreisen bis hin zur Jungsteinzeit, Clan-Schlachten und der gälischen Sprache - unglaubliche Geschichten warten auf Sie!

Ihnen gefällt, was Sie hier hören? Abonnieren Sie Tour Guide Tales auf Ihrer Lieblingsplattform für Podcasts!

Welcome to Tour Guide Tales, an exciting new podcast where you'll hear Scotland's amazing stories from the people who know them best - the country's captivating tour guides.

Join our host Grant Stott to hear expert guides and born storytellers recount their enthralling tales and personal experiences. In each podcast, a tour guide from a different region will share their stories, bringing out the eclectic and often incredibly rich history found only in Scotland from those who know and tell it best.

The first podcast covers Edinburgh and The Lothians, with Mary's Meanders tours, revealing some of the incredible real-life tales behind locations used in the Outlander series. Future episodes explore the secrets of Glasgow Central Station, Orkney's Neolithic sites and our incredible coasts and waters with the Scottish Maritime Museum in Irvine.

Episode 1 - Outlander Filming Locations with Mary's Meanders

Ever wanted to know the real history behind Outlander's iconic filming locations? In our first episode of Tour Guide Tales, Grant speaks to Emma Chalmers and Anne Daly from Mary's Meanders. Their tour takes fans of the hit TV show, Outlander to some of the show's most famous places. Tune in to hear about the real Scottish history of these incredible sites, and the amazing stories connected to them.

Read Episode 1 transcript.

Episode 2 - Wallace Monument

In our second edition of Tour Guide Tales, we hear the tale of the Guardian of Scotland, Sir William Wallace. Speaking to Ken Thomson of the National Wallace Monument, Grant finds out the story behind one of Scotland's most iconic attractions, as well as the national heroes, both old and new, it seeks to commemorate.

Read Episode 2 transcript.

Episode 3 - Blair Castle

In this episode, Grant speaks to Mo Tracey from Blair Castle. From royal kidnappings and Queen Victoria's private army to Scotland's final siege, we hear all about how this fairytale castle has been a fascinating place of interest over the last eight hundred years, and why its history is such a draw for people from all over the world - including some rather famous names.

Read Episode 3 transcript.

Episode 4 - A Short History of the Hard Hat

This week, in celebration of Scotland's Year of Coasts & Waters, Grant speaks to Stuart Rich of the Scottish Maritime Museum. With two sites at Irvine and Dumbarton, the Scottish Maritime Museum helps preserve the rich story of a cornerstone of Scotland's industrial past, it's maritime and ship building history. We'll hear what life was like for families working in the often-unforgiving shipyards, the impact of the industry to 20th century Scotland, and some amazing stories behind just some of the boats in the Museum's care.

Read Episode 4 transcript.

Episode 5 - Mercat Tours

Want to know more about the gory and ghostly past of Edinburgh? In this edition of Tour Guide Tales, Grant speaks to Tania Dron, just one of the tour guides for Mercat Tours in Scotland's capital. From jealousy-fuelled murder and dismembered ghosts, to witch trials and cheating death at the gallows, you'll never feel the same when walking through Edinburgh's streets again.

*Please be aware that this episode will occasionally feature more macabre themes of torture and death and listener discretion is advised.

Read Episode 5 transcript.

Episode 6 - Kilmartin Glen

Scotland is rich with history. History that goes back a very long way. In this episode, we'll be going back 6000 years with Alan Steele, tour guide at Kilmartin Glen - a site of great archaeological importance in the West of Scotland. We'll discuss the prehistoric civilisations that once lived there and what remains of them today. There's a lot to discuss as Kilmartin Glen has over 800 points of interest within an area of just 6 miles. So let's head back in time with presenter Grant Stott as we hear some more incredible Tour Guide Tales from Kilmartin Glen.

Read Episode 6 transcript.

Episode 7 - Outer Hebrides

This week Grant speaks to tour guide Magaidh Smith from the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides. With six generations of her family calling the Hebrides home, her unrivalled knowledge of the rich cultural history, traditions and communities of the Outer Hebrides makes for a fascinating listen. From Moon Gods and stone circles, to Neolithic history, clan battles and the Gaelic language - discover a wealth of incredible stories.

Read Episode 7 Transcript.

Episode 8 - Skaill House

In this episode Grant speaks to Cormac Grogan, Manager of Skaill House on Orkney. Homely, historic and haunted, this mansion houses a treasure trove of stories and artefacts that have been passed down through 12 generations of the same family for over 400 years. Skaill House and its idyllic location is certainly unique with the site of Skara Brae right on its doorstep. In this podcast we hear all about how this ancient Neolithic site was discovered, as well as the House's many global connections, with stories behind an incredible variety of objects from a WW1 Bolshevik Russian flag and Captain Cook's dinner set!

Read Episode 8 Transcript.

Episode 9 - Shetland

Joining Grant in this episode, the penultimate of the series, is Lara Thomason. Lara has lived on Shetland all her life, and now takes great pride in taking tourists around the beautiful and rugged islands. With a diverse range of things to see and learn about, from the amazing wildlife, to the wild nights of the Up Helly Aa Viking fire festival, Lara shares with us the very best of Shetland's tour guide tales.

Read Episode 9 transcript.

Episode 10 - Summerlee Museum

In our last episode of the series, Grant is joined by Gerry Durkin from the Summerlee Museum of Industrial Life. Based in Lanarkshire, the museum commemorates Scotland's industrial and social history, with a particular focus on the mining industry and its role in shaping the people and places of Scotland. With some surprising stories, including the history behind unique tattoos and sandwich eating techniques, and an insight into the history and hardships of Scotland's mining families, this final episode doesn't disappoint!

Read Episode 10 transcript.

Like what you hear? Be sure to subscribe to Tour Guide Tales on your favourite podcast platform!