Edinburgh

Cities

Pour les 48 prochaines heures, Édimbourg est à vous : se pourrait-il que ce soit le meilleur week-end de votre vie ?! On l’espère. La capitale écossaise est un lieu unique. Vous pouvez escalader un volcan avant le petit déjeuner et finir la journée avec la plus belle expérience culinaire de votre vie. Et si ça vous semble alléchant, attendez de voir le reste de ce qu’on vous propose !

Transport

Bus Á pied

Jours

2

Miles

6

Parcours

Autour du centre-ville d'Édimbourg

Points phares

Les meilleures attractions de la ville d’Édimbourg, les vus sur la ville et de la nourriture délicieuse

Zones couvertes

East

voir l'itinéraire complet

Jour 1

Présentation

La ville avec ses hauts… et ses bas

Votre matinée sera consacrée à la visite des meilleurs endroits de la ville depuis des points de vue incroyables, que ce soit du haut d’un bus à étage, d’un monument de 60 m ou du sommet d’Arthur’s Seat. Puis il sera temps de s’engouffrer dans les profondeurs pour découvrir les secrets des plus vieilles rues d’Édimbourg !

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Bus Á pied

Arthur's Seat, Edinburgh

Arthur's Seat

Il n’y a probablement pas beaucoup de villes dans lesquelles vous entrez en escaladant un volcan éteint, mais nous pensons que les plus aventureux d’entre vous vont adorer ça, surtout s’il fait beau ! Dirigez-vous vers le parc d’Holyrood, situé près du bas du Royal Mile, et profitez des plus belles vues de la ville depuis le sommet d’Arthur’s Seat. Vous verrez des panoramas d’Édimbourg incroyables, et bien au-delà du majestueux comté du Kingdom of Fife.

Visite en bus

Alternativement, un autre excellent moyen pour se faire une idée de cette ville palpitante est de participer à une visite en bus à toit ouvert d’Édimbourg. Au départ de Waverley Bridge, la visite complète dure 1 heure. Il s’agit d’un service « hop on, hop off », c’est-à-dire à montée et descente libres, ce qui vous permet de faire un peu d’exploration en route si c’est ce qui vous plaît ! Vous passerez par quelques lieux incroyables de la ville comme la nouvelle ville, la vieille ville et Grassmarket, et vous verrez le château d’Édimbourg, le Musée national d’Écosse, le palais de Holyroodhouse et bien plus encore.

Le monument Scott

Même si l’idée d’un après-midi shopping n’est pas votre tasse de thé (et si ça l’est, vous êtes chanceux, Édimbourg est géniale pour le shopping !), vous serez surement d’accord pour dire que les centres commerciaux des autres villes n’ont rien à envier à la grandeur de Princes Street et George Street. Le meilleur endroit pour l’apprécier, c’est du haut du monument Scott, une structure de style gothique étonnante à l’est de Princes Street. Grimpez au sommet et profitez de la vaste vue sur les jardins de Princes Street, la Galerie nationale d’Écosse et de nombreux autres monuments de l’horizon de la ville.

Le Real Mary King's Close

Ce que nous préférons à propos d’Édimbourg, ce sont ses contrastes, en particulier lorsqu’il s’agit d’admirer la juxtaposition de l’architecture de la vieille ville et de celle de la nouvelle ville au style géorgien. Alors dirigez-vous vers le Royal Mile sans plus tarder via Waverley Bridge pour remonter la charmante rue de Cockburn Street. Remontez High Street et faites un tour à la cathédrale Saint-Gilles, un lieu de culte historique bâti dans les années 1120. Maintenant il est temps de se rendre sous terre dans les rues perdues du Real Mary King's Close pour découvrir les histoires des personnes qui y vivaient il y a plus de 400 ans.

La Scotch Whisky Experience

Si certaines des histoires étranges et effrayantes du passé d’Édimbourg vous ont donné des frissons, alors pourquoi ne pas vous réchauffer avec du whisky ? Dirigez-vous vers le Royal Mile et participez à une visite guidée de nuit un peu en avance au Scotch Whisky Experience, où vous pourrez découvrir comment se déroule la fabrication de cet alcool ambré et identifier quels whiskys correspondent à votre palet. Obtenez des conseils sur comment déguster et apprécier la boisson nationale alors que vous vous tenez dans la pièce contenant la plus grande collection de whiskys au monde. C’est vraiment impressionnant !

Le Royal Mile et Grassmarket

À la tombée de la nuit, c’est l’heure de voir ce que vaut la vie nocturne d’Édimbourg. Entrez dans l’un des restaurants de George IV Bridge ou du Royal Mile, où vous en trouverez une grande variété. Si vous êtes intéressé par quelque chose de vraiment extraordinaire, pourquoi ne pas faire une réservation dans l’un des restaurants étoilés au guide Michelin de la ville ? Pour un dernier verre, dirigez-vous vers la charmante rue de Victoria Street et les pubs chaleureux et accueillants de Grassmarket.

Jour 2

Présentation

Les trésors culturels d'Édimbourg

Aujourd’hui, vous pourrez admirer un magnifique mélange d’histoire et de culture en même temps que vous visiterez certains des lieux touristiques les plus connus de la ville. Ajoutez-y une touche d’espaces verts, une soirée d’amusement et un bon repas, et vous aurez la recette pour une excursion parfaite !

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Á pied

Edinburgh Castle

Le château d’Édimbourg

Si l’emblématique château d’Édimbourg est parmi vos priorités, alors nous vous conseillons d’y arriver dans les premiers pour éviter la foule. Rien qu’en remontant l’esplanade en approchant, vous savez que vous êtes sur le point d’entrer dans l’un des bâtiments historiques les plus exceptionnels d’Écosse. Admirez la vue de la ville et apprenez-en plus sur les évènements dramatiques qui se sont déroulés entre ces murs anciens alors que vous explorez les magnifiques halls, les chambres royales, les monuments et les donjons.

Le Musée national d'Écosse

Dirigez-vous ensuite vers le Musée national d’Écosse (si vous passez par George IV Bridge, vous pourrez voir la fameuse statue de Greyfriars Bobby !). Ce musée de classe internationale est l’attraction la plus visitée en dehors de Londres et est rempli d’expositions incroyables sur l’histoire, l’héritage naturel, les cultures mondiales, le design, l’innovation, la technologie et bien plus. Si vous aimez ce qui est macabre, ou que vous êtes passionné par la pathologie et la médecine, pourquoi ne pas visiter le musée de Surgeons' Hall, qui regroupe des milliers d’échantillons de tissus organiques conservés dans des bocaux ?

La galerie nationale d'Écosse

Envie d'une bouffée d'air frais ? Alors promenez-vous dans les avenues à trois voies du parc Meadows. Situé près de l'université, c'est l'un des espaces verts les plus appréciés de la ville. Alternativement, si vous voulez rajouter un peu plus de culture avant la fin de la journée, retournez à Princes Street pour déambuler dans la Galerie nationale d'Écosse, ou regardez ce que propose la galerie de Fruitmarket ou le City Art Centre, tous deux situés sur Market Street près de la gare de Waverley Station.

Visite des pubs littéraires

Si vous êtes d’humeur pour sortir ce soir, pourquoi ne pas découvrir ce qui est au programme dans les théâtres et salles de concert d’Édimbourg ? Vous avez de grandes chances de tomber sur des comédies musicales des grands théâtres londoniens, des artistes mondialement connus, des drames qui poussent à réflexion et bien plus. Ou bien découvrez les connexions que la ville entretient avec la littérature avec la visite des pubs littéraires.

Dînez dehors

Dînez dehors dans la vieille ville ce soir, saviez-vous que la plupart des meilleurs restaurants d’Édimbourg se trouvent sur Thistle Street ? Ou peut-être vous aventurerez-vous jusqu'à Stockbridge, un quartier aux airs de charmant petit village avec une atmosphère sympa et détendue, et choisissez entre de superbes bars à vin, restaurants et bistros.

Résumé

Politique de cookies

VisitScotland utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez notre politique d'utilisation de cookies. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez lire notre nouvelle déclaration de confidentialité et de cookies.

For the next 48 hours, Edinburgh is yours - could it, perhaps, be the best weekend you'll ever have?! We think so. Scotland's capital is a place like no other. You could climb a volcano before breakfast, and end the day with the culinary experience of your life. And if you think that sounds interesting, wait until you hear what else you could fit in!


Bus Walk






All centrally located within Edinburgh


Edinburgh's top city attractions, the views across the city and delicious food

Areas Covered


see full route

Day 1


City highs… and lows

Your morning is all about seeing the best of the city from great vantage points, be that the top of a double-decker bus, a 60 m high monument or the summit of Arthur's Seat. Then it's time to slip below the surface to discover the secrets of Edinburgh's oldest streets!

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Bus Walk

Arthur's Seat, Edinburgh

Arthur's Seat

Probably not many city getaways start with climbing an extinct volcano, but we think the more adventurous of you are going to love it, especially on a clear day! Head to Holyrood Park, located near the bottom of the Royal Mile, and take in the best views of the city from the top of Arthur's Seat. You'll get incredible panoramas over Edinburgh, and beyond to the majestic Kingdom of Fife.

Bus tour

Alternatively, another great way to get a feel for this exciting city is to take an open top Edinburgh Bus Tour. Departing from Waverley Bridge, the tour takes 1 hour in total. It's a hop on, hop off service which gives you the freedom to do a bit of exploring along the route, if that takes your fancy! You'll pass some awesome parts of the city such as the New Town, Old Town and Grassmarket, and see Edinburgh Castle, National Museum of Scotland, the Palace of Holyroodhouse, and much more besides.

Scott Monument

Even if the idea of a shopping trip doesn't float your boat (and if it does, you are in luck - Edinburgh is awesome for shopping!), you'll probably agree that other city centre shopping districts are no match to the grandeur of Princes Street and George Street. The best place to appreciate this is from the top of the Scott Monument, a striking Gothic-style structure at the east end of Princes Street. Climb it and take in the sprawling views over Princes Street Gardens, the Scottish National Gallery and many other features of the city skyline.

Real Mary King's Close

What we love about Edinburgh most is its contrasts, particularly when it comes to admiring the juxtaposing architecture of the medieval Old Town and the Georgian New Town. So, without further ado, head to the Royal Mile, taking Waverley Bridge and heading up pretty Cockburn Street. Walk up High Street and pop into St Giles' Cathedral, a historic place of worship founded in the 1120s. Now, it's time to go underground and into the lost street of the Real Mary King's Close to uncover the stories of the people who lived there over 400 years ago.

Scotch Whisky Experience

If you've been chilled by some of the strange and grizzly tales from Edinburgh's past, then why not warm up with a dram? Head toward the of the Royal Mile and join an early evening tour at the Scotch Whisky Experience where you can discover just what goes on in making the amber-coloured spirit, and identify which whiskies suit your palate. Get tips on how to taste and appreciate the national drink as you stand in the room with the world's largest collection of whisky. It's pretty impressive!

Royal Mile and Grassmarket

As night draws in, it's time to see what Edinburgh's nightlife is all about. Tuck into in one of the restaurants on George IV Bridge or on the Royal Mile, where you'll find a great variety of eateries. If you fancy something really special, why not make a reservation at one of the city's Michelin star restaurants? For a nightcap, head down charming Victoria Street to the warm and welcoming pubs of the Grassmarket.

Day 2


Edinburgh's cultural treasures

Today you can enjoy a superb blend of history and culture as you see some of the city's most famous sights. Throw in a dash of green spaces, add some evening entertainment, plus a good meal, and we'd say you've got the recipe for a perfect day out!

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport


Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle

If Edinburgh's iconic castle is a must for you, then we recommend heading there first to beat the crowds. Just walking up the esplanade on approach, you know you're about to step into one of Scotland's most special historic buildings. Take in the views across the city and learn about the dramatic events which have played out between these ancient walls as you explore great halls, royal chambers, monuments and dungeons.

National Museum of Scotland

Afterwards, head over to the National Museum of Scotland (if you go via George IV Bridge you can see the statue of the famous Greyfriars Bobby!). This world-class museum is the most visited attraction outside of London and is filled with incredible displays covering history, natural heritage, world cultures, design, innovation, technology and more. If you're a fan of the macabre, or have a passion for pathology and medical science, why not pay a visit to the Surgeons' Hall Museum, home to thousands of tissue specimens preserved in jars?

Scottish National Gallery

Fancy a breath of fresh air? Then take a stroll through the tree-lined avenues of the Meadows. Located near the university, it's one of the city's best-loved green spaces.  Alternatively, if you're keen to cram a bit more culture in before the day is over, make your way back to Princes Street and wander round the Scottish National Gallery, or see what's on at the Fruitmarket Gallery or City Art Centre, both located on Market Street near Waverley Station.

Literary Pub Tour

If you're in the mood for some entertainment this evening, why not discover what's on at Edinburgh's theatres and concert halls? There are great opportunities to catch West End musicals, internationally-acclaimed artists, thought provoking drama and more. Or, uncover the city's connections to the written word on the Literary Pub Tour.

Dine out

Dine out in the New Town tonight - did you know that many of Edinburgh's top eateries can be found on Thistle Street? Or perhaps you'll venture to Stockbridge, a pretty village-like area with a cool yet relaxed vibe, and choose from the great wine bars, restaurants and bistros.


Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our new privacy and cookies statement for more information.