Skye ist ein wahrhaftig magischer Ort. Es ist die größte Insel der Inneren Hebriden und die Heimat einiger der berühmtesten Landschaften Schottlands. Gleichgültig, ob Sie nur für ein paar Tage während Ihrer Reise durch Schottland zu Besuch sind oder ob Sie länger bleiben: Diese Insel wird Sie auf vielfache Weise begeistern, mit ihren Bergketten, kilometerlangen atemberaubenden Küstenlinien und der ergreifenden Geschichte. Bringen Sie Ihren Abenteuersinn mit!

Wunder der Natur

Wenn es eins gibt auf Skye, das Sie nie vergessen werden, dann ist es die Landschaft. Schon beim Herumfahren können Sie viele der majestätischsten geologischen Merkmale der Insel, wie den Old Man of Storr, den Quiraing und den Cuillin, sehen. Denken Sie an Ihre robusten Wanderschuhe und erkunden Sie diese einzigartigen Sehenswürdigkeiten zu Fuß - Sie werden es nicht bereuen.

Tauchen Sie ein in die Vergangenheit

Vielleicht haben Sie durch Ihre Vorfahren Verbindungen zur Insel oder sind einfach fasziniert von dem Leben vergangener Zeiten auf Skye? Die Insel blickt auf eine reiche Geschichte zurück, es gibt hier prähistorische Stätten und dunkle Burgen. Erfahren Sie mehr über lang vergangene Kämpfe zwischen Clans, Schlachten der Jakobiter und die Zerstörung der Croft-Gemeinschaften während der Higland Clearances.

Städte und Dörfer

Nach einem Tag voller Erkundungen sind die Stadt der Insel und die Dörfer willkommene Orte, an denen Sie geschmackvolle Gerichte der Region in Restaurants genießen können oder Sie entspannen sich bei einem Drink Ihrer Wahl in charmanten Pubs und Bars. Vielleicht probieren Sie den Malt Whisky der Region oder ein Bier von der Insel?

Reisen auf Skye

Anreise

Vom Festland aus gibt es drei Routen, um nach Skye zu gelangen:

  • Eine Fähre von Caledonian MacBrayne (CalMac) fährt täglich von dem Hafen in Mallaig in den westlichen Highlands nach Armadale in Sleat im Süden von Skye. Sie können mit dem Bus/Auto oder mit der Bahn nach Mallaig gelangen.
  • Die Skye Bridge ist eine Straßenbrücke, die den Loch Alsh zwischen Kyle of Lochalsh, einem Dorf auf dem Festland, das an das Bahnnetz Schottlands angebunden ist, und Kyleakin auf Skye überspannt. Auch Busse verkehren direkt von Glasgow und Inverness auf die Insel.
  • Die von privater Hand betriebene Glenelg Fähre verbindet Glenelg auf dem Festland mit Kylerhea auf Skye.

Von A nach B kommen 

Es ist leicht, auf Skye von A nach B zu kommen, und die Landschaft, die Sie bei Ihrer Reise über die Insel sehen werden, ist einfach unglaublich! Die Anreise mit dem Auto ist für viele Besucher die beste und beliebteste Option, da man so wirklich flexibel ist und auch entlegenere Orte gut erreichen kann. Einige Straßen auf der Insel sind einspurig, es gibt jedoch genügend Ausweichmöglichkeiten, um aneinander vorbeizukommen. Die Insel wird auch von den Bussen des Unternehmens Stagecoach angefahren und verbindet die wichtigsten Dörfer miteinander.

Kommen Sie jetzt nach Skye!

Cookies-Richtlinie

VisitScotland verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen beim Besuch unserer Webseiten das bestmögliche Online-Erlebnis zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies durch uns zu. Bitte lesen Sie sich unsere neue Erklärung zu Datenschutz und Cookies durch, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice. You can now search our website to see what businesses are open and signed up to the Good to Go scheme. Find more advice on exploring Scotland during Covid-19 on our dedicated page.

Skye

Destinations and maps

Isle of Skye

Skye is a truly magical place. The largest of the Inner Hebrides, it's home to some of Scotland's most iconic landscapes. Whether you are visiting for a few days whilst on a tour of Scotland or staying for a longer spell, the island has countless ways to enchant you, with its mountain ranges, miles of dramatic coastline and captivating history. Bring your sense of adventure!

Skye Time

Head to myskyetime.com. Brought to you by Skye Connect, it's the first step towards planning an unforgettable adventure on the Isle of Skye.

Here you'll discover how to have a truly authentic experience on Skye and the Isle of Raasay. Make lasting memories filled with friendly locals, remarkable attractions, one-of-a-kind activities, and hand-crafted gifts by a flourishing creative community; all set against the bewitching natural beauty for which the islands are world-renowned.

From incredible walks through iconic landscapes like the dramatic Waternish peninsula and drams of the finest malt whisky, to exploring the fabled 'Garden of Skye' on the Sleat peninsula and days filled with action-packed fun on Raasay; learn the true meaning of 'Skye time' by spending just a little more time here.

What's more, discover a place where responsible tourism can make a genuine, positive impact to the environment and local community. Learn about all the enriching voluntourism opportunities available and become part of the islands' new and sustainable visitor experience. 

Stay longer and be amazed by just how much more you can experience.

Natural wonders

If there's one thing about Skye that'll leave a lasting impression on you, it's got to be the scenery. Just driving around, you can see many of Skye's most majestic geological features, such as the Old Man of Storr, the Quiraing and the Cuillin. But be sure to take your sturdiest of boots and explore these unique sights on foot for the real rewards.

Delve into the past

Perhaps you've got ancestral connections to the island, or are fascinated by life in Skye in eras gone by? The island has a wealth of history, from prehistoric sites to brooding castles. Learn about long ago feuds of rivalling clans, Jacobite battles, and the devastation of crofting communities during the Highland Clearances.

Travel in Skye

Getting here

From the mainland, there are three route options for getting to Skye:

  • A Caledonian MacBrayne (CalMac) ferry runs daily from the port of Mallaig in the west Highlands to Armadale in Sleat on the south of Skye. You can get to Mallaig by road or train.
  • The Skye Bridge is a road bridge spanning Loch Alsh between the mainland village of Kyle of Lochalsh which is connected to Scotland's rail network, and Kyleakin on Skye. Buses go directly from Glasgow and Inverness to the island, too.
  • The privately-operated Glenelg ferry connects Glenelg on the mainland with Kylerhea on Skye.

Getting around 

It's easy to get around Skye and the scenery you'll see as you travel round the island is pretty unbelievable! Driving is the preferred option for many visitors as it offers the most flexibility and access to remoter spots. Some of the island's roads are single track, with ample passing places. The island is also served by Stagecoach buses, connecting the main villages.

Get to Skye now!

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy and cookies statement for more information.