Que sont les voyages durables ?

Les voyages et le tourisme durables sont importants, quel que soit le pays que vous choisissez de visiter. Ils s’inscrivent dans un effort de protection du paysage et stimulent l’économie, la culture et la diversité de la région que vous visitez, ce qui permet de préserver la beauté de la nature et des paysages pour que d’autres personnes puissent en profiter à l’avenir.
Le voyage durable est un moyen de passer des vacances dans différentes parties du monde de manière responsable et respectueuse de l’environnement. Le tourisme vert ou « écotourisme » consiste à prendre en compte l’impact que votre voyage pourrait avoir sur le pays que vous visitez, et sur le monde de manière plus générale. Cela concerne notamment :

  • les moyens de transport que vous utilisez
  • les hébergements dans lesquels vous séjournez
  • la nourriture que vous consommez
  • les activités que vous choisissez d’effectuer
  • les communautés que vous côtoyez.

Comment voyager de manière responsable ?

En réalité, voyager de manière durable est beaucoup plus facile que vous ne le pensez. De nombreuses entreprises, commerces et enseignes issus de différents secteurs font des efforts concertés en vue d’adopter un mode de fonctionnement plus durable et d’offrir aux visiteurs une expérience fondamentalement respectueuse de l’environnement. Des voitures électriques et des pods de glamping aux produits frais d’origine locale en passant par les véhicules à émissions réduites et le soutien aux entreprises familiales ; il existe de nombreuses façons de s’impliquer dans la démarche de l’écotourisme et de voyager de manière responsable en Écosse.

Découvrez nos 10 gestes simples pour devenir un écotouriste.

Être un « écotouriste » ne signifie pas que vous devez changer radicalement votre mode de vie du jour au lendemain. Même en faisant de petits changements au fil du temps (qui seront par conséquent plus faciles à intégrer) ainsi que des gestes simples, vous contribuerez à restaurer et à préserver l’environnement pour les années et les générations à venir. Soutenez les entreprises locales et redonnez à la collectivité en faisant vos achats au niveau local, choisissez un moyen de transport moins polluant (comme le vélo) et soyez respectueux des paysages naturels que vous visitez en ne laissant aucune trace, sans déchets ni détritus ni produit inflammable.

Explorez la richesse des « entreprises vertes » d’Écosse qui ont reçu une médaille de bronze, d’argent ou d’or pour leurs efforts en faveur du développement durable.

Hams of Roe

Les impacts environnementaux du tourisme

Le tourisme a des conséquences aussi bien négatives que positives sur l’environnement. Malheureusement, certaines d’entre elles peuvent endommager les magnifiques paysages écossais, mais d’autres sont là pour aider à restaurer l’environnement naturel et encourager le monde animal et végétal à prospérer. Visitez l’une des nombreuses réserves naturelles nationales d’Écosse, qui sont des zones protégées où la faune et la flore peuvent s’épanouir. Ces réserves sont réparties aux quatre coins de l’Écosse, de la réserve naturelle d’Hermaness au nord de l’archipel des Shetland à la réserve naturelle nationale de Staffa au large de la côte ouest, en passant par la réserve naturelle de l’île de May au large d’Anstruther dans le Fife.

Ou pourquoi ne pas participer à une activité pédagogique en pleine nature lors de votre prochain voyage en Écosse ? Les activités de plein air telles que le bushcraft (à savoir des exercices de survie en forêt) consistent à survivre et à s’acclimater à l’environnement naturel, ainsi qu’à utiliser ou réapprendre des connaissances et des compétences primitives millénaires. Découvrez des espèces de plantes spécifiques à certains environnements, apprenez à identifier et distinguer les différences espèces animales et végétales, découvrez les secrets de la cueillette en toute sécurité, et bien plus encore.

Pendant que vous explorez tout ce que l’Écosse a à offrir, il est important de respecter les zones et les paysages que vous visitez. Les destinations populaires accueilleront naturellement plus de visiteurs, mais cela peut avoir un impact négatif sur le territoire. Par exemple, les sentiers et itinéraires de randonnée sont souvent endommagés par les randonneurs qui choisissent de s’écarter des sentiers balisés, ce qui entraîne souvent une dégradation de la flore et de la faune environnantes. C’est pourquoi nous vous prions de respecter le tracé des itinéraires balisés et d’admirer les paysages vierges alentours.

Il est également essentiel de ne pas endommager les paysages environnants, étant donné qu’un certain nombre de zones abritent des espèces animales et végétales rares ou protégées.

  • Évitez de manipuler des bâtons et ne cassez pas les branches des arbres
  • Ne soulevez pas de pierres du sol pour les déposer ou les jeter ailleurs
  • Évitez d’allumer des feux de camp en pleine nature, car ils peuvent facilement devenir incontrôlables et endommager la végétation alentour ou effrayer inutilement certains animaux sauvages.

N’oubliez pas de lire et de suivre le Code d’accès à la nature en Écosse avant de partir à la découverte de notre nature.

Mangersta Beach

Vacances et tourisme responsables en Écosse

ll existe de nombreuses façons de passer des vacances responsables et écologiques en Écosse, sans pour autant faire une croix sur le plaisir et l’aventure ! Embarquez pour des vacances respectueuses de l’environnement où vous apprendrez tout sur les paysages écossais et sur la manière dont vous pouvez contribuer à leur protection grâce à des activités respectueuses de l’environnement.

Vous préférez peut-être un séjour de retour aux sources ? Installez-vous dans éco-pod de glamping ou profitez du plein air en effectuant un séjour camping. Ces deux options vous permettront de découvrir l’offre d’hébergement durable en Écosse. Une autre idée serait de séjourner dans des chambres ou maisons d’hôtes locales ou encore des chalets ou autres hébergements familiaux, plutôt que dans des hôtels de grandes chaînes.

L’utilisation des transports en commun est également un facteur non négligeable. Les transports en commun émettent moins de pollution que les déplacements en voiture ou autres véhicules individuels. Le réseau écossais des transports en commun est parfait pour se déplacer dans tout le pays, même dans les endroits les plus reculés. Des trains aux services de bus et d’autocars fréquents en passant par les ferries et les locations de voitures électriques, il existe davantage de moyens de transport durables que vous ne le pensez.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice. You can use our search to find businesses that are open and Good to Go (with a COVID-19 risk assessment). Or keep up-to-date with the latest changes to restrictions.

Scotland, Yours to enjoy. Responsibly.
Play the video

About

Sustainable & Responsible Tourism in Scotland

Responsible travel and tourism means lots of different things to different people. Read on to find out about what responsible travel means to Scotland, and how you can plan and enjoy a responsible trip.

Jump down to:

What is Responsible Travel?

Responsible travel and tourism is important whichever country you decide to visit. It protects the landscape and boosts the local economy, culture and diversity of the area you visit, which in turn keeps the landscape natural and beautiful for other people to enjoy in the future.

Sustainable tourism is a way of holidaying to different parts of the world in an eco and environmentally friendly way. Green and sustainable tourism is about considering the impact your trip could have on the country you're visiting, and the world. This could be in terms of

  • through your mode of transport
  • the accommodation you stay in
  • the food you eat
  • the activities you do in the area
  • the communities you interact with.

How to travel responsibly and sustainably

Travelling sustainably is actually a lot easier than you may think. A variety of companies, businesses and brands across all industries are making concerted efforts to be more responsible and provide eco-friendly experiences for visitors. From electric cars, eco glamping pods and locally sourced fresh food, to reduced-emission vehicles and supporting family businesses, there are so many ways you get involved and travel responsibly in Scotland.

Read up on our 10 Simple Steps to Becoming an Eco Tourist.

Being an eco-friendly traveller doesn't mean you need to change your entire lifestyle right away. Even making small changes over time (which will be easier to stick to) and little things will help restore and preserve the environment for years to come. Help local businesses and give back to communities by shopping local, choose a less polluting form of transport such as cycling, and be respectful of the landscapes you visit by leaving no trace with no litter, waste, or fires.

Explore Scotland's wealth of Green Businesses who have been awarded Bronze, Silver or Gold for their efforts to be sustainable.

While You're Here…

Our landscapes, mountains, valleys, lochs, towns and cities are all iconic and simply magnificent to experience up close, so we definitely recommend getting out and exploring these magical gems whilst on a trip to Scotland.

Scotland offers the perfect playground for walks, hikes, city strolls, woodland wanders and much more. Most of our parks and gardens are open all year round and are free to enter too! As spring is just around the corner, the nights are getting lighter, the weather is getting warmer and the sun is shining for longer each day, so now is the perfect time add Scotland's mesmerising landscapes to your bucket list.

As our landscapes are beautiful and can be popular destinations for locals and visitors alike, they need to be taken care of so their natural beauty and habitats last for centuries to come, and for others to enjoy and visit too.

Wherever you go, out into the wilds or just around the city, when you're out, please be considerate of what's around you and respect any signage or information - they're there for a reason! Please remember to:

  • Pick up litter; take it home with you or dispose of correctly
  • Clean up after your dog
  • Do not start fires
  • Do not disturb farm animals and keep your dog on a leash around farmland
  • Do not disturb natural flora, fauna or animal habitats

Find out more about exploring the outdoors during Covid-19.

Responsible tourism during the Covid-19 pandemic

After the Covid-19 pandemic it's even more important that we be kind and look after all living things in Scotland - whether that's the people we travel with, those we meet along the way, small communities, farm animals, wildlife, city parks, forests, glens and beyond.

There are a few key things to consider in 2021:

  • Always plan ahead. Even if you're just popping out for a day trip, check where you're going is open, know where you can park (and have a plan B), and research toilets and facilities.
  • Book before you go. You need to book accommodation, attractions, tours and places to eat in advance so Covid-19 regulations can be followed.
  • Don't leave anything behind. Use litter bins provided or take it back home with you to dispose of in recycling and waste bins.
  • Explore somewhere different. Many parts of Scotland are proving to be a popular choice, so why not head off your beaten track, and do something a bit different? This is a great time to explore the city you thought you knew, or the town just beyond yours.

Understanding the Environmental Impacts of Tourism

There are many positive and negative environmental factors of tourism. Unfortunately, some can cause damage to Scotland's beautiful landscapes, but others are there to help restore greenery and encourage the natural world to thrive. Pay a visit to one of Scotland's many National Nature Reserves which are protected areas of land where wildlife and plantlife can flourish. You can find these reserves all over Scotland, from Hermaness Nature Reserve in the northern corners of Shetland, and Staffa National Nature Reserve on the west coast, to the Isle of May reserve off the coast of Anstruther in Fife.

Or why not join in an educational outdoor activity on your trip to Scotland? Outdoor activities such as bushcraft are all about surviving and thriving in the natural environment, and using knowledge and skills that have been in existence for many thousands of years. Learn about specific plant species and why they grow in certain environments, how to tell the difference between species and how to identify them, how to forage safely, and much more.

Whilst you're out exploring all that Scotland has to offer, it is important to be respectful of the areas and landscapes you are visiting. Popular destinations will naturally see more visitors but this can cause harmful impact to the land. Thanks to the Scottish Outdoor Access Code you can explore off-path, but if you are visiting somewhere that is particularly vulnerable to damage, it might be sensible to try and stick to paths and tracks where available.

It is also crucial that you do not disturb the surrounding landscapes as many areas are home to wildlife habitats and rare or protected plantlife species.

  • Avoid tampering with sticks and don't break branches off of trees.
  • Don't lift stones from the ground and place elsewhere.
  • Avoid building fires as these can easily get out of control and damage the landscape.

Remember to read up on, and follow, the Scottish Outdoor Access Code before you explore Scotland.

Hams of Roe

Responsible tourism holidays in Scotland

There are many ways you can enjoy a sustainable and eco-friendly holiday in Scotland, without missing out on all the fun and adventure! Embark on a conservation holiday where you can learn all about Scotland's landscapes and what you can do to help restore and protect them through eco-friendly tourism activities.

Maybe you'd prefer a back to nature break? Snuggle into an eco-friendly glamping pod, or enjoy the outdoors with a camping break, both are great ways to explore sustainable accommodation options in Scotland. Another way would be to stay at local B&Bs or family-run cottages and lodges, rather than big chain hotels.

Transport is a big way to be a more sustainable traveller too. Public transport emits less pollution than if we all travelled around in our own cars or vehicles. Scotland's public transport options are great for scooting around the country, even to our most remote locations. From efficient trains and frequent bus and coach services, to ferries and electric car hire options, there are more sustainable ways to travel than you think.