Covid-19. Finden Sie aktuelle Informationen zu Reisen sowie Unternehmen, die mit Covid-Sicherheitsmaßnahmen geöffnet haben.

Cities

Ein Tag in Dundee

Diese abwechslungsreiche und kompakte Stadt ist eine UNESCO City of Design, die nicht nur wegen des V&A Dundee unbedingt einen Besuch wert ist! Holen Sie alles aus Ihrer kostbaren Zeit in der Stadt heraus und erleben Sie mit diesem großartigen Reisevorschlag in nur 24 Stunden, was die Stadt zu bieten hat. Von Essen und Trinken bis hin zu inspirierenden Museen und Galerien gibt es in Dundee einfach alles!

Transport

Auto Fuß

Tage

1

Meilen

14

Route

Innerhalb von Dundee

Highlights

Das V&A Dundee, das Broughty Castle Museum, die RRS Discovery, die McManus Art Gallery & Museum, die HMS Unicorn, das Dundee Science Centre, Foxlake Adventures

Abgedeckte Bereiche

Dundee

Tag 1

Übersicht

Dundee

Dundee ist für Jute, Marmelade und Journalismus bekannt, aber es warten auch viele Geheimtipps darauf, von Ihnen entdeckt zu werden. In den letzten Jahren ist die Stadt zu einem urbanen Hotspot geworden, der Menschen aus der ganzen Welt anzieht. Mit der Eröffnung des V&A Dundee und zahlreichen weiteren Museen und Galerien ist es kein Wunder, dass Dundee eine der gefragtesten Städte in Schottland ist!
  • Meilen

    14

  • km

    23

  • Haltepunkte

    6

  • Transport

    Auto Fuß

Das V&A Dundee und die Verdant Works

Bei einer Reise nach Dundee darf ein Besuch im V&A Dundee, Schottlands erstem Design-Museum, auf keinen Fall fehlen. Das Museum wurde im September 2018 eröffnet. Es ist das erste Museum dieser Art außerhalb von London und rückt Dundee ins Rampenlicht. Erleben Sie ein paar Stunden in den beeindruckenden Kunstgalerien und Ausstellungen zu Themen wie Mode, Bautechnik und Videospiel-Design. Wenn Ihnen das noch nicht reicht, können Sie auf der Webseite des V&A Dundee die neuesten Informationen über zukünftige Veranstaltungen finden.

Nur einen kurzen Fußweg vom Museum entfernt liegen die Verdant Works. Diese Sehenswürdigkeit bietet Besuchern einen Einblick in die Geschichte der Textilindustrie in Dundee. Reisen Sie in der Zeit zurück und erfahren Sie, wie es war, hier zu arbeiten. Auch das großartige Gebäude selbst wird Sie beeindrucken.

Dauer: 2 Stunden

Das Broughty Castle Museum

Das Broughty Castle Museum wird der ganzen Familie gefallen, denn es gibt viel zu sehen und zu erleben! Entdecken Sie Geschichte und faszinierende Tiere, während Sie diese Küstenfestung aus dem 15. Jahrhundert erkunden, die einst belagert und im 19. Jahrhundert als Teil des Verteidigungssystems am River Tay wiederaufgebaut wurde. Fotografen werden sich über die spektakuläre Aussicht vom Aussichtspunkt auf den River Tay freuen - und mit Glück können Sie von hier auch einen Blick auf Delfine erhaschen! Schauen Sie auch im Museum vorbei, um mehr über die Geschichte, Menschen und Umwelt von Broughty Ferry zu erfahren - der Eintritt ist frei!

Dauer: 1 Stunde

Die McManus Art Gallery & Museum

Wenn Sie ein Kunst- und Kulturliebhaber sind, ist die McManus Art Gallery & Museum genau richtig für Sie. Das herrliche viktorianische Gebäude beheimatet eine beeindruckende Kunstsammlung, die 400 Millionen Jahre umfasst. Machen Sie eine Audio-Führung und erfahren Sie mehr über Architektur und den Schiffbau. Halten Sie außerdem Ausschau nach aufregenden Ausstellungen, die das ganze Jahr über stattfinden.

Dauer: 2 Stunden

Das Dundee Science Centre

Erleben Sie im Dundee Science Centre eine Welt der unbegrenzten Möglichkeiten. Bestaunen Sie mit der ganzen Familie interaktive Ausstellungsstücke für alle Sinne, die Kinder aller Altersklassen inspirieren werden - auch die Erwachsenen! Zu den Highlights gehören ein Ball, der mit der Kraft der Gedanken in die Luft geht, dramatische Experimente und Vorführungen und die Chance, einen Kriminalfall zu lösen. Was auch immer Sie tun, im Dundee Science Centre stehen Ihnen viele Möglichkeiten offen.

Dauer: 2,5 Stunden

Foxlake Adventures

Sie müssen nicht kilometerweit fahren, um die besten Outdoor-Aktivitäten in Schottland zu erleben. Mitten im Herzen des Stadtzentrums von Dundee liegt Foxlake Adventures. Erreichen Sie Ihr Limit und lassen Sie Ihren inneren Tarzan auf einer Reihe von Hindernissen heraus! Lernen Sie Stand-up-Paddling und erkunden Sie Dundee City Quay auf eine ganz neue Art oder lernen Sie bei Schnupperkursen das Wakeboarden - alles mit freundlicher Anleitung durch erfahrene Profis. In den Sommermonaten können Sie mit der ganzen Familie ein großartiges Abenteuer auf dem aufblasbaren Hindernisparcours erleben - stundenlanger Spaß für alle!

Dauer: 2,5 Stunden

Kulinarisches und Nachtleben

Wenn es um köstliches Essen und Trinken geht, können Sie auf Dundee zählen. Egal, ob es gehobene Küche oder ein günstiger Happen sein soll, in Dundee ist für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei. Machen Sie sich schick und lassen Sie sich bei The Tayberry mit kreativer schottischer Küche verwöhnen.

The Newport liegt am Ufer des River Tay im nahe gelegenen Hafenort Newport on Tay und ist eine wunderbare Alternative für gehobene Küche, denn auf der Speisekarte stehen Fasan mit Pastinaken und Trüffelkartoffeln, Hummer aus St Andrews mit Meereskräutern und Bärlauch und leckere Appetithappen wie Krabben-Tacos.

Sie möchten Ihren Geldbeutel schonen? Keine Sorge! Die Café-Szene in Dundee wird immer beliebter und Pacamara ist besonders wegen seines Frühstücks- und Brunch-Angebots ideal, um gut in den Tag zu starten. Ein Highlight auf der Speisekarte ist das traditionelle schottische Frühstück mit Sauerteigtoast. Bei The Parlour gibt es herzhafte Gerichte zum Frühstück und Mittagessen, von Arbroath Smokies, Frittata mit Frühlingsgemüse, Sandwiches und Suppen bis hin zu köstlichen Salaten.

Es gibt auch zahlreiche wunderbare Restaurants in der ganzen Stadt. Gallery 48 ist ein wahrer Geheimtipp unter Besuchern und Einheimischen. Diese kleine, moderne Kunstgalerie ist gleichzeitig ein beliebtes Tapas-Restaurant. Genießen Sie eine Mischung aus Kunst, Workshops und köstlichen Gerichten, darunter spanische Tortilla, Oliven-Tapenade und Artischocke oder gebackener Dorsch mit Aioli. Wenn Sie nach dem klassischen Fish & Chips suchen, werden Sie bei Tailend fündig. Setzen Sie sich hier für ein leckeres fish supper mit einer Tasse Tee hin oder probieren Sie einen der Cocktails. Es gibt neben dem Fang des Tages auch verschiedene Fischgerichte und schottische Lieblinge wie haggis, neeps and tatties (Haggis mit Rüben- und Kartoffelpüree).

Dundee ist nicht nur bei Feinschmeckern beliebt, auch Freunde des Nachtlebens zieht es hierher. Reisen Sie in der Bar Draffens in die 1920er Jahre zurück und erleben Sie mit Freunden oder Ihrer Familie einen tollen Abend. Lauschen Sie Live-Jazz, während Sie an köstlichen Cocktails nippen. In Innis and Gunn's Beer Kitchen können Sie Craftbier probieren und mit einem Braumeister sogar Schritt für Schritt Ihr eigenes Bier kreieren. Den einen oder anderen Tipp und Trick werden Sie garantiert mitnehmen. Außerdem können Sie dann Ihr selbstgebrautes Bier mit nach Hause nehmen - was für ein Andenken an einen unvergesslichen Tag in Dundee!

Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice. Not all businesses are operating as advertised due to the current Coronavirus situation. Please see our latest advice on travel and booking.

V&A Dundee

Cities

24 Hours in Dundee Itinerary

Recognised as a UNESCO City of Design and home to the V&A Dundee, this diverse and compact city is certainly the place to be! Make the most of your precious time here and explore what the city has to offer in just over 24 hours with this great one day itinerary! From food & drink to inspiring museums and galleries, Dundee certainly has it all!

Transport

Car Walk

Days

1

Miles

14

Route

Within Dundee

Highlights

V&A Dundee, Broughty Castle Museum, RRS Discovery, McManus Art Gallery & Museum, HMS Unicorn, Dundee Science Centre, Foxlake Adventures

Areas Covered

Dundee

Day 1

overview

Dundee

Dundee may be well-known for its jute, jam and journalism but there are more hidden gems to be discovered. In recent years, the city has completely revolutionised into an urban city hotspot with many people from across the world flocking to catch a glimpse of what the city has to offer. With the opening of V&A Dundee and its plethora of museums and art galleries, its no wonder that Dundee is quickly becoming one of Scotland's hottest cities!
  • Miles

    14

  • Km

    23

  • Stops

    6

  • Transport

    Car Walk

V&A Dundee & Verdant Works

A trip to Dundee would not be complete without stopping off at the V&A Dundee - Scotland's first design museum. The museum, which opened in September 2018, is the first museum of its kind outside of London and well and truly puts Dundee centre-stage. Enjoy spending a few hours taking in the impressive art galleries and exhibits, from fashion and engineering to video game design. If that's not enough to fill your boots, make sure to check out the V&A Dundee website to get the latest updates on upcoming events throughout the year.

Just a short walk away from the museum is the Verdant Works. This world-class attraction offers visitors a unique insight into the history of Dundee's industrial textile heritage. Step back in time as the mill workers take you on a journey of what it was like working here, all while being in awe of the attraction's amazing architecture.

Duration of stay: 2 Hours

Broughty Castle Museum

Broughty Castle Museum will certainly bring a fun family day out to life with a plethora of exciting things to see and do! Discover history and wildlife at its very best while you explore the wonders of this 15th century coastal fort, which was once under siege and rebuilt in the 19th century as part of the River Tay's coastal defence system. For all the keen photographers out there, snap away until your heart's content with spectacular views over the River Tay from the observation point - a great spot for catching glimpses of dolphins too! Make sure to pop into the museum, take a look back at the local history, the people and the environment of Broughty Ferry and with free entry, what's not to love?

Duration of stay:  1 Hour

McManus Art Gallery & Museum

If you're a sucker for all things art and culture, the McManus Art Gallery & Museum is just the ticket! This magnificent Victorian building is home to an impressive collection of artworks spanning almost 400 million years. Enjoy an audio tour around the attraction where you can get a deeper understanding on all things architecture and shipbuilding. Make sure to keep your eyes peeled for exciting exhibitions and displays throughout the year too.

Duration of stay: 2 Hours

Dundee Science Centre

Discover a whole world of possibilities at the Dundee Science Centre. Keep yourself and the whole family entertained with an amazing interactive experience which delves into the five senses, set to inspire and intrigue children of all ages - including grown-ups! Highlights include moving a ball up into the air with the power of your mind, taking part in dramatic science demonstrations and shows, or why not investigate a crime? Whatever you decide to do, the Dundee Science Centre will leave you spoiled for choice.

Duration of stay: 2.5 Hours

Foxlake Adventures

You don't have to travel for miles to experience the very best of Scotland's outdoor activities. Situated right in the heart of Dundee's city centre is Foxlake Adventures. Push yourself to the limits and embrace your inner Tarzan as you take on a wide range of fun obstacles! Learn how to paddleboard for an exciting way to explore Dundee City Quay with your friends or family, or learn how to become a wakeboarding pro with a range of taster sessions to suit your skill set - all accompanied by a friendly instructor to guide you along the way. During the summer months, have oodles of fun with the whole family as you take on the giant inflatable assault course where you and the family are bound to have endless hours of fun.

Duration of stay: 2.5 Hours

Dining Out & Nightlife

When it comes to good food & drink you can always count on Dundee! Whether it's fine dining or somewhere that is cheap and cheerful, Dundee has plenty of places to whet your appetite. Put your glad rags on and enjoy a fine dining experience like no other at The Tayberry serving Scottish cuisine with a flourish of creativity.

The Newport, situated on the banks of the River Tay in the nearby town of Newport on Tay, is also another great alternative when it comes to fine dining with the menu including local pheasant with parsnip and truffle potato, St Andrews lobster with sea herbs and wild garlic and fun appetizers such as crab tacos.

Don't want to splash the cash? Not to worry! Dundee is becoming more popular for its café scene, Pacamara is a great breakfast and brunch spot to set you up for the day. A clear winner on their menu is the traditional full Scottish breakfast with sourdough toast on the side. Stop off at The Parlour for a bite to eat. The café offers good hearty breakfasts and lunches with dishes ranging from Arbroath smokies, spring green frittata's, homemade sandwiches and soup, and delicious deli salads. It's not just great cafes and fine dining which Dundee boasts, there are also many other great restaurants that are dotted across the city. Gallery 48 is a hidden gem amongst visitors and locals. This small modern art gallery also acts as a popular tapas restaurant. Enjoy a good mix of art, workshops and delicious food with favourites such as Spanish tortilla, olive tapenade and artichoke or salted cod fritters with house aioli. If you're looking for a classier fish and chip joint, look no further than Tailend. Enjoy a delicious sit-down fish supper with a mug of tea or you may even fancy a cocktail. Enjoy the catch of the day or a whole variety of fish dishes including other all-time Scottish favourites such as haggis, neeps and tatties.

Dundee is not only notorious for its good food and drink but it's up and coming nightlife scene also has everyone talking too. Transport yourself back in time at Draffens. This 1920's speak-easy style bar is the perfect setting for a good night out with friends or family. Hear live jazz music while you sip away on some great cocktails. Enjoy craft beer at its very finest at Innis and Gunn's Beer Kitchen. Get the chance to create your own beer where a beer master will guide you step-by-step on the basics on how to add your own style and flavour and useful tips and tricks. Not to forget that you will be able to take home with you your own beer which you have brewed!

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy and cookies statement for more information.