Fife - Die Region, in der es so viel zu unternehmen gibt und häufig zu wenig Zeit, um alles zu sehen. Die rustikalen Dörfer und bezaubernden Städte von Fife geben der Region ihren „Wow-Faktor“. Auch wenn St Andrews zweifellos das besterhaltenste Juwel von Fife ist - die Region hat viel mehr zu bieten und wird sowohl verwöhnte Reisende als auch Entdecker, Radfahrer, Museumsbesucher und Feinschmecker gleichermaßen begeistern.

Unendlich viel Geschichte

Burgen, Paläste, Museen und Galerien gibt es in Fife in Hülle und Fülle. Sie sind über die ganze Region verteilt und doch ist jede der Sehenswürdigkeiten einzigartig. Einige haben königliche Verbindungen, wie das Kloster in Dunfermline, andere schauen auf die Industrie der Region zurück, wie das Scottish Fisheries Museum, und einige wiederum erinnern an berühmte Persönlichkeiten aus Fife, wie Andrew Carnegie und Adam Smith.

Die Heimat des Golfs

Fife ist dank der hübschen Golfplätze, der langen Geschichte und Verbindung mit dem Sport als die Heimat des Golfes bekannt und ein toller Ort, um sich auf das Grün hinauszuwagen. Von den historischen Golfplätzen in St Andrews bis zu den wunderbaren Plätzen inmitten von Parklandschaften im Inland haben Sie 50 Golfplätze zur Auswahl.

Küstenschätze

Die Städte und Dörfer von Fife mögen klein sein, doch sie sind voller Leben! Außerdem können Sie alle zu Fuß entdecken und die beeindruckenden Blicke genießen, wenn Sie dem Fife Coastal Path entlang der Küste folgen. Von der kosmopolitischen Atmosphäre von St Andrews zu den reizenden Fischerdörfern des East Neuk of Fife wie Crail, Anstruther, Pittenweem, St Monans und Elie: In der Region finden Sie unzählige malerische Orte und Dörfer am Meer, voller Möglichkeiten für großartige Outdoor-Aktivitäten und atemberaubender Natur.

Kulinarische Freuden

Wenn es ums Essen in Fife geht, stellt sich eigentlich nur die Frage, wie Sie am besten die vielen aufregenden Restaurants und gastronomischen Highlights unter einen Hut bekommen. Sie können Fassbiere, Gins und Whisky direkt dort probieren, wo diese hergestellt werden, Ihre eigenen Beeren pflücken oder die regionalen Erzeugnisse in Cafés, Pubs und preisgekrönten Restaurants probieren. Oder warum besuchen Sie nicht einen der geschäftigen Bauernmärkte der Region und kaufen die regionalen Zutaten wie frisch gefangenen Fisch, aromatische Käsesorten und saftiges Fleisch? Sie haben die Wahl!

Keyboard Controls

Zoom: + - Pan: ← → ↑ ↓
Zurück

Anstruther

Towns & Villages
Anstruther is a charming fishing village in the East Neuk of Fife, popular with day-trippers and holidaymakers.

Crail

Towns & Villages
Crail is a historic fishing village in the pretty East Neuk of Fife. Explore the narrow wynds of the village or simply take a walk along the quaint harbour to see the fishing boats.

Cupar

Towns & Villages
Cupar is a town and former royal burgh in Fife.

Dunfermline

Towns & Villages
Dunfermline is a large town in Fife and was once the capital of Scotland.

Falkland

Towns & Villages
Falkland is a picturesque town in Fife, famous for its royal palace.

Kirkcaldy

Towns & Villages
Home of the longest street fair in Europe, Kirkcaldy is a town on the Fife coast.

Newport-on-Tay

Towns & Villages
Newport-on-Tay is a small town on the south side of the Firth of Tay, just a 5 minute drive from Dundee city centre.

North Queensferry

Towns & Villages
The picturesque village of North Queensferry is located on the northern shore of the Firth of Forth, between the iconic Forth Bridge, which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the Forth Road Bridge.

Rosyth

Towns & Villages
Rosyth is a town on the Firth of Forth in Fife.

Royal Burgh of Culross

Towns & Villages
Historic Culross is one of Scotland's most picturesque towns.

St Andrews

Towns & Villages
St Andrews is a charming and historic town that attracts visitors from all over the world.

Dunfermline iCentre

VisitScotland iCentres
Dunfermline iCentre is located on the High Street by the Historic Quarter of Scotland's ancient capital. Our Advisors are ready to inspire you with their local knowledge but can also advise on further afield.

St Andrews iCentre

VisitScotland iCentres
St Andrews iCentre is situated at the east end of one of the popular shopping streets, Market Street, with parking available outside.

Dunfermline ist eine alte Hauptstadt von Schottland und die Dunfermline Abbey war für viele schottische Könige und Königinnen einschliesslich Robert the Bruce die letzte Ruhestätte.

Die Forth Bridge ist eine UNESCO Weltkulturerbestätte und verbindet das Kingdom of Fife mit Edinburgh.

Reisen in Five

Anreise

Edinburgh im Süden, Dundee und Perth im Norden und Glasgow im Südwesten: Fife befindet sich in Schottland in idealer Lage und die Anreise in die Region ist durch ausgezeichnete Verkehrsverbindungen aus ganz Großbritannien einfach und bequem.

Von A nach B kommen

Es ist ganz einfach, in dieser kleinen Region umherzureisen - ob mit dem Auto, zu Fuß, mit dem Fahrrad oder öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.

Planen Sie Ihre Reise in Fife.

Cookies-Richtlinie

VisitScotland verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen beim Besuch unserer Webseiten das bestmögliche Online-Erlebnis zu bieten. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies durch uns zu. Bitte lesen Sie sich unsere neue Erklärung zu Datenschutz und Cookies durch, um weitere Informationen zu erhalten.

Destinations and maps

The Kingdom of Fife

We get it, it's Fife - the land of so much to do and not always enough time to do it in. Its rustic villages and charming towns conspire to give the region a certain ooh la la. While St Andrews is undoubtedly the best kept jewel in Fife's crown, there's much more to Fife that will spoil urban travellers, explorers, cyclists, museum-goers and foodies alike.

Bags of history

Castles, palaces, museums and galleries are found in abundance in Fife. Scattered throughout the region, each is unique in its own way. Some hold royal connections, like the abbey in Dunfermline, others look back at the region's industries like the Scottish Fisheries Museum, and some remember Fife's key pioneers like Andrew Carnegie and Adam Smith.

The Home of Golf

Known as The Home of Golf thanks to its beautiful courses and long history and connection to the sport, Fife is a great place to get out on the greens. From the historic courses in St Andrews to the magnificent parkland courses inland, there are over 45 courses for you to choose from.

Coastal treasures

Fife's towns and villages may be small, but boy, are they full of character! From the cosmopolitan atmosphere of St Andrews to the quaint fishing villages of the East Neuk of Fife such as Crail, Anstruther, Pittenweem, St Monans, Elie and beyond, the region is peppered with incredibly picturesque sea towns and villages, teeming with masses of great outdoor activities and amazing wildlife.

Foodie delights

When it comes to dining in Fife, the question is not what, where or when, but you'll find yourself wondering how to make the most of the buzzing restaurants and lip-smacking enjoyments! You can savour craft beers, gins and whiskies directly at their source, pick your own berries, or have the local larder served up in the cafés, pubs and award-winning restaurants. Or why not stop at some of the region's many bustling farmers' markets and stock up on local ingredients, from freshly caught seafood to flavoursome and creamy cheeses and succulent meats? The choice is yours!

Dunfermline is an ancient capital of Scotland and Dunfermline Abbey is the last resting place for many Scottish kings and queens including Robert the Bruce.

The Forth Rail Bridge, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, links the Kingdom of Fife with Edinburgh.

Travel in Fife

Getting here

With Edinburgh just to the south, Dundee and Perth to the north and Glasgow to the south west, Fife is in a great position in Scotland and getting to the region is simple with excellent public transport links from around the UK.

Getting around

This compact region is really easy to travel around too, be it by car, foot, bike or public transport links.

Plan your travel around Fife

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our new privacy and cookies statement for more information.