A horticultural treasure trove from around the globe, making every part an adventure to explore.
The name Linn relates to the the swampy ground below the cliff once flooded by the Meikle and Bogle Burns. In 1860 James Martin leased the land from the Duke of Argyll and built the Villa now shown standing above the Linn. The Architect was William Motherwell.
The early garden was constructed on the ground around the house. In 1925 the lease expired and the Martins purchased the property. The cottage at the foot of the cliff was built at this time but the garden remained confined to the groung above the cliff.
In 1947 the Martins sold the Linn. There were two owners during the next twenty three years but no significant changes were made to the garden in this period.
In 1971 Dr. James Taggart moved to the Linn. The next twenty five years saw extensive redevelopment of the existing garden and it's extension into the gully of the Meikle burn, the steep bank and cliff area and onto the swamp below. In 1997 his son Jamie took over the development of the garden.
There is a marked One Kilometre Walk
The markers, one to fifty, signpost a walk which will take you through all parts of the garden. Some of the paths are steep and narrow and there are several flights of steps. The garden is therefore unsuitable for prams and wheelchairs. We regret this, but the nature of the terrain means that there is little that can be done about it.
Guided tours of the garden can be arranged for organised parties. The Plant Sales Area stocks many species not usually available.