Perth war einst die Hauptstadt Schottlands und der Ort, den Könige und Königinnen besuchten. Heute finden Sie hier wunderschöne Bauwerke, eine tolle Landschaft und faszinierende Geschichte. Die "schöne Stadt" Schottlands inspiriert Besucher und Einheimische gleichermaßen.

Wir haben unsere Follower auf Facebook und Twitter gefragt, welche Sehenswürdigkeiten sich bei einem ersten Besuch in Perth besonders lohnen und wir haben zahlreiche Antworten erhalten - vielen Dank!

1. Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillerie

Möchten Sie sich einen feinen Tropfen gönnen? Entdecken Sie Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery, die außerhalb des idyllischen Aberfeldy liegt, und probieren Sie Whisky, lernen Sie mehr über den Herstellungsprozess der Spirituose oder entspannen Sie sich in der Whisky Lounge und dem Café. Besuchen Sie auch das Heritage Museum, in dem es eine faszinierende, interaktive Ausstellung gibt.

2. Concorde Music

Falls Sie Beethoven, Mozart oder klassische Musik im Allgemeinen mögen oder nach dem nächsten Ed Sheeran suchen, dann sollten Sie einen Abstecher zu Concorde Music machen. Es handelt sich hierbei um den ältesten familiengeführten Plattenladen Schottlands, der um 1967 eröffnet wurde. Hier finden Sie tausende CDs und DVDs sowie eine große Auswahl an Schallplatten aus allen Musikrichtungen.

3. Die Meikleour Beech Hedge

A post shared by Angela (@sightsonthesites) on

Sehen Sie sich die längste Hecke Großbritanniens an. Die Meikleour Beech Hedge wurde 1745 gepflanzt ist unglaubliche 30 m hoch und 530 m lang - damit steht Sie als höchste Hecke der Welt im Guinnessbuch der Rekorde! Die Buchen wurden vermutlich von Männern gepflanzt, die kurz darauf als Soldaten für den Jakobitenaufstand berufen wurde und nie mehr wiederkehrten.

4. Der Fortingall Yew Tree

A post shared by Euan (@euanward) on

Entdecken Sie den Fortingall Yew Tree, eine uralte Eibe, die sich auf dem Fortingall Churchyard in Aberfeldy befindet. Es wird vermutet, dass die Eibe zwischen 3.000 und 9.000 Jahre alt und somit eines der ältesten Lebewesens in Europa ist. Sie war im Jahr 1769 ganze 16 Meter hoch und ist heute von Ablegern umgeben.

5. Kinnoull Hill

Hierbei handelt es sich um den höchsten der fünf Hügel im Kinnoull Hill Woodland Parks. Der Park ist Schottlands erster offizieller Woodland Park und wird von Einwohnern als der Wander-Hotspot schlechthin gehandelt - zu Recht. Sie können unterschiedliche Wanderrouten aussuchen, je nachdem, ob Sie eher einen gemütlichen Spaziergang oder steilen Aufstieg suchen. Auf jeden Fall bekommen Sie einen tollen Blick auf den River Tay geboten.

6. Balhousie Castle

Diese Festung bietet einen guten Einstieg in die Vergangenheit von Perth, die von turbulenten Auseinandersetzungen geprägt ist. Die Festung spielte während der Jakobitenaufstände und in beiden Weltkriegen eine tragende Rolle. Heute befindet sich hier immer noch das Elitemilitärregiment The Black Watch. Besucher können das Black Watch Museum besuchen und historische Uniformen, Gemälde, Tagebücher, Waffen und Fotos sehen.

7. Greyfriars Burial Ground

Auf diesem Friedhof, der sich im Zentrum von Perth befindet, stehen einige der ältesten Denkmäler und Grabsteine Schottlands. Unter anderem die Steine, die als "Weeping Woman" und "Adam and Eve" bekannt sind.

8. Der River Tay

A post shared by Grant Dolier (@grantdolier) on

Falls Sie passionierter Angler sind, sollten Sie unbedingt den River Tay, den längsten Fluss Schottlands, besuchen. Er wird als einer der besten Spots gehandelt, um Atlantischen Lachs zu fangen. Packen Sie also Ihre Angelrute ein und genießen Sie die Ruhe an den Ufern des Flusses, der sich durch die Stadt schlängelt.

9. Die Fergusson Gallery

Die Fergusson Gallery widmet sich der Arbeit des schottischen Künstlers John Fergusson und seiner Frau Margaret Morris, einer Tänzerin. Sie ist im alten Wasserturm der Stadt angesiedelt, der ein ausgezeichnetes Beispiel für die einzigartige Architektur Perths ist. Die drei Galerien beinhalten Zeichnungen, Kostüme und Fotografien, die das faszinierende Leben und die Liebe dieser beiden außergewöhnlichen Künstler zeigen.

10. Branklyn Garden

A post shared by Hayley (@wild_shieldmaiden) on

Im Branklyn Garden, der in der Nähe des Killoull Hill und somit nicht weit vom Stadtzentrum entfernt liegt, finden Sie eine wahre Farbexplosion vor. Die exotischen Pflanzen stammen unter anderem aus China, Tibet und Bhutan.

11. George Street

Wieso versuchen Sie nicht, ein kleines Stückchen Perth mit nach Hause zu nehmen? Durchstöbern Sie die charmanten Läden auf der George Street, in denen Sie wirklich alles finden. Die Einkaufsstraße hat ein besonderes Ambiente, es gibt Vintage-Fundstücke, wunderschöne Stoffe und frische Blumen. Denken Sie ebenfalls daran, einen Kaffee oder verschiedene Leckereien bei Provender Brown zu probieren.

12. Der River Tay Public Art Trail

Bewundern Sie eine Reihe von Kunstwerken entlang des River Tay Public Art Trail. Erleben Sie eine künstlerische und historische Reise durch die Stadt und entdecken Sie zum Denken anregende Skulpturen imnitten von herrlichen Gärten und bunten Blumenbeeten am Flussufer. Wenn Sie in einem gemütlichen Tempo gehen, sollten Sie für die Route etwas mehr als eine Stunde einplanen. Sie endet im Stadtzentrum, wo Sie in einem der vielen Cafés oder Restaurants einkehren können.

13. Das Salutation Hotel

A post shared by Janie Munro (@janiec55) on

Übernachten Sie doch in einem Hotel, das bereits seit 1699 seine Tore für Gäste öffnete. Das "Sally", wie das Hotel liebevoll von den Einheimischen genannt wird, ist eines der ältesten Hotels in Schottland und war einst die Privatresidenz der Familie Murray. Besucht wurde es unter anderem von Bonnie Prince Charlie.

Sie können viele weitere Highlights in Perth und der Umgebung entdecken. Besuchen Sie unsere Webseite für mehr Tipps zu Aktivitäten, Sehenswürdigkeiten und mehr!

Once upon a time, Perth was the capital of Scotland and a picturesque playground for kings and queens. Today, the city is laced with gorgeous city architecture, unrivalled surrounding landscapes and an intriguing royal history. The 'Fair City' of Scotland continues to inspire locals and travellers alike.

So, we asked you on Facebook and Twitter where you would take first time visitors to Perth, and we had an overwhelming response - thanks everyone!

1. Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery

Fancy a dram or two? Explore Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery, on the outskirts of picturesque Aberfeldy, to taste whisky samples, learn about the creation process of the spirits, and relax in the atmospheric Whisky Lounge and cafĂ©. Don't forget to uncover the distillery's past and historic stories in the Heritage Museum too, which hosts a fascinating interactive exhibition.

2. The Bothy

A post shared by Bothy Perth (@bothyperth) on

Feeling peckish? Head to The Bothy on Kinnoull Street for a delicious menu full of traditional hearty food that you'll remember from growing up, all created using the finest and freshest local produce. Take a masterclass in cocktail making, book a pre-theatre meal, or just pop in for some afternoon tea - all are set to impress!

3. Concorde Music

A post shared by DJ Micky More (@djmickymore) on

If you're a Beethoven, Mozart, or classical music lover, or even the next Ed Sheeran, then you won't want to miss a trip to Concorde Music. This is Scotland's oldest established family record shop, circa 1967, and stocks thousands of CDs and DVD's, as well as a variety of vinyls, singles and picture discs, covering all genres of music.

4. Meikleour Beech Hedge

A post shared by Angela (@sightsonthesites) on

Come and see the longest hedge in Britain! The Meikleour Beech Hedge was planted in 1745 and stands at a whopping 100ft (30m) high and 530m long, and is recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records as the highest hedge in the world. It is thought to have been planted by men who were then called to fight in the Jacobite Rebellion, only to never return.

5. Fortingall Yew Tree

A post shared by Euan (@euanward) on

Uncover the Fortingall Yew, a heritage tree of international importance located within the Fortingall Churchyard in Aberfeldy. Thought to be one of the oldest living things in Europe at approximately somewhere between 3,000 and 9,000 years old with connections to early Christianity, the tree stood at its highest of 52ft tall in 1769 and is now surrounded by relics and offshoots of the original tree.

6. Kinnoull Hill

The highest of the five hills in the Kinnoull Hill Woodland Park - Scotland's first official woodland park, Kinnoull Hill is rated highly by locals as a hiking hotspot - for very good reason. Depending on your mood, a gentle or rigorous wander up this meandering hill rewards with sensational views across the River Tay.

7. Balhousie Castle

This fortress serves as an alluring introduction to the rest of Perth's history after living through centuries of turbulence. From the days of the Jacobites, to playing a key role in both the World Wars, the castle is now the home of the elite military regiment, The Black Watch. Explore The Black Watch Museum to see the past brought to life through incredible collections of ancient uniforms, fine paintings, medals, photographs, diaries, weapons and more.

8. Greyfriars Burial Ground

Nestled quietly in the centre of the city, this fascinating graveyard is adorned with some of the oldest monuments and headstones to be found anywhere in Scotland, such as the 'Weeping Woman' and the 'Adam and Eve' stones. Atmospheric tours of the graveyard are available, and give a fascinating insight into the livelihoods of former residents of the city.

9. River Tay

A post shared by Grant Dolier (@grantdolier) on

There is nothing fishy about hooking a catch in the River Tay, Scotland's longest river, which is widely regarded as one of the best spots for Atlantic salmon in Scotland. So, if you're angling for a day on the water, cast a line on the banks of this peaceful river which flows gently through Perth.

10. Fergusson Gallery

The Fergusson Gallery is devoted to the work of the Scottish colourist, John Fergusson, and his wife, Margaret Morris, a modern dancer. Based in the old Watertower, it is a fine example of the city's unique architectural heritage. The three galleries contained within display sketchbooks, costumes and photographs, illuminating the fascinating lives and loves of these two remarkable artists.

11. Branklyn Garden

A post shared by Hayley (@wild_shieldmaiden) on

For generations, Branklyn Garden has welcomed an explosion of colour from its exceptional setting on the side of Kinnoull Hill, which is only a short walk from the city and features many exotic plants from China, Tibet and Bhutan.

12. George Street

A post shared by 🐝 (@rosiefbrown) on

Why not find a unique little piece of Perth in some of the city's independent shops? On George Street, you can find whatever you are looking for whether it's beads, bikes, beans or buttons. The charming street is bursting with one-of-a-kind purchases, from vintage finds and beautiful fabrics, to lovely fresh flowers. Don't forget to stop for a delicious treat or a speciality coffee at Provender Brown, a fine food delicatessen.

13. River Tay Public Art Trail

River Tay Art Trail

Admire a collection of stunning public artworks along the River Tay Public Art Trail. Follow the artistic, natural and historical journey of the city and its river with thought-provoking sculptures placed in amongst glorious gardens and brightly-coloured riverside flowerbeds. At a moderate pace, the whole trail should take just over an hour to complete and ends in the city centre, where there are many cafés and restaurants in which to enjoy a well-earned refreshment.

14. Salutation Hotel

A post shared by Janie Munro (@janiec55) on

Stay in a hotel that has welcomed guests since 1699. The 'Sally', as it is known locally, is thought to be one of the oldest hotels in Scotland and it was once the private house of the Murray family. It has even played host to Bonnie Prince Charlie.

Don't forget - there are plenty of other fantastic things to see and do in Perth and the surrounding area. Check out our website for more tips on activities, attractions and much more!