Perth était autrefois la capitale de l'Écosse et un terrain de jeu pittoresque pour la royauté. Aujourd'hui, la ville présente une architecture urbaine somptueuse, des paysages grandioses et un passé royal fascinant. Ce joyau de l'Écosse continue d'inspirer aussi bien ses habitants que ses touristes.

1. Distillerie Dewar's D'aberfeldy

Envie de déguster un petit whisky ? Venez visitez la distillerie Dewar's d'Aberfeldy (Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery), située aux abords du village du même nom. Vous aurez l'occasion d'y déguster des échantillons de whisky, d'en apprendre plus sur l'élaboration des spiritueux, et de vous détendre dans le café et la Whisky Lounge. N'oubliez pas de découvrir le passé de la distillerie et d'écouter ses histoires au musée du patrimoine (Heritage Museum), qui abrite une exposition interactive fascinante.

2. The Bothy

A post shared by Bothy Perth (@bothyperth) on

Vous avez un petit creux ? Rendez-vous à The Bothy sur Kinnoull Street. Ce restaurant offre une sélection de plats traditionnels copieux préparés à partir de produits frais et locaux. Apprenez à préparer des cocktails, venez-y dîner avant votre soirée théâtre, ou venez prendre un café ou un thé. Dans tous les cas, vous ne serez pas déçu !

3. Concorde Music

A post shared by DJ Micky More (@djmickymore) on

Si vous êtes amateur de musique classique ou fan d'Ed Sheeran, ne manquez pas de faire un tour chez Concord Music. Il s'agit du plus vieux disquaire familial d'Écosse (1967 !) et renferme des milliers de CD et de DVD, ainsi qu'un vaste choix de vinyles, de singles et de picture discs. Il y en a pour tous les goûts !

4. Haie De Hêtres De Meikleour

A post shared by Angela (@sightsonthesites) on

Venez admirer la plus longue haie du Royaume-Uni ! La haie de hêtres de Meikleour (Meikleour Beech Hedge) fut plantée en 1745, s'élève à pas moins de 30 mètres de hauteur et s'étire sur 530 mètres. Elle fut reconnue par le Guinness Book of World Records comme la plus haute haie du monde. On pense qu'elle a été plantée par des hommes appelés aux armes pendant la rébellion jacobite, pour ne jamais revenir.

5. L'if De Fortingall

A post shared by Euan (@euanward) on

Venez observer l'if de Fortingall, un arbre de renommée internationale qui repose dans le cimetière de l'église de Fortingall, à Aberfeldy. On pense qu'il s'agit de l'une des plus vieilles espèces vivantes d'Europe, aurait entre 3000 et 9000 ans, et serait lié à l'histoire des débuts du christianisme. C'est en 1769 que l'if atteignit sa hauteur maximale (près de 16 mètres). Aujourd'hui, il est entouré de vestiges et de ramifications de l'arbre d'origine..

6. Kinnoull Hill

Il s'agit de la plus haute des cinq collines du parc forestier de Kinnoull Hill, le premier parc forestier officiel d'Écosse. C'est un site de randonnée très prisé des locaux, et ça se comprend ! Selon votre humeur, une promenade plus ou moins ardue vous emmènera au sommet de cette colline, d'où vous pourrez profiter des vues imprenables par-delà le fleuve Tay.

7. Château De Balhousie

Cette forteresse témoigne de l'histoire de Perth au sortir des siècles troublés qu'a connu la ville. Depuis l'époque des Jacobites jusqu'aux deux Guerres mondiales, le château a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'histoire de la région, et accueille aujourd'hui le régiment miliaire d'élite appelé la Black Watch (" Garde noire "). Visitez le musée de la Black Watch et revivez le passé au travers d'expositions incroyables d'uniformes de l'époque, de peintures, de médailles, de photos, de journaux intimes, d'armes, et plus encore.

8. Cimetière De Greyfriars

Logé au cœur de la ville, ce cimetière fascinant renferme certains des plus vieux monuments et pierres tombales que vous trouverez en Écosse, tels que la " dame en pleurs " et " l'Adam et Ève ". Il est possible d'effectuer des visites guidées du cimetière et d'en apprendre plus sur la vie des habitants de la ville au fil des époques.

9. La Tay

A post shared by Grant Dolier (@grantdolier) on

Il n'y a rien de plus normal que de partir pêcher sur la Tay, le plus long fleuve d'Écosse, reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs endroits pour pêcher le saumon atlantique dans le pays. Alors si vous avez envie de passer une journée pêche, installez-vous sur les berges de ce fleuve tranquille et jetez votre ligne.

10. Galerie Fergusson

La galerie Fergusson est consacrée à l'œuvre du coloriste écossais John Fergusson et de son épouse Margaret Morris, danseuse moderne. Basée sur le site d'un ancien château d'eau, la galerie est un bel exemple du patrimoine architectural singulier de la ville. Les trois galeries du bâtiment exposent des carnets de croquis, des costumes et des photos qui dépeignent avec brio les vies fascinantes et l'amour que se portaient ces deux artistes de talent.

11. Jardin De Branklyn

A post shared by Hayley (@wild_shieldmaiden) on

Depuis plusieurs générations, le jardin de Branklyn resplendit des couleurs que lui confère son décor grandiose, sur le versant de Kinnoull Hill. Le jardin se situe à quelques minutes du centre-ville et abrite de nombreuses variétés de plantes exotiques provenant de Chine, du Tibet et du Bhoutan..

12. George Street

Pourquoi ne pas chercher les perles rares de Perth dans l'une de ses boutiques ? Sur George Street, vous trouverez tout ce que vous pouvez imager : perles, pulls, pâtisseries ou pizzas. Cette charmante rue du centre-ville regorge de boutiques uniques, des accessoires vintage aux vêtements de haute couture en passant par des bouquets multicolores. N'oubliez pas de faire une pause café ou gâteau chez Provender Brown, une épicerie spécialisée dans la haute cuisine.

13. Parcours D'art Public De La Tay

Admirez une collection de superbes œuvres d'art publiques en suivant le parcours d'art public de la Tay (River Tay Public Art Trail). Suivez le parcours artistique, naturel et historique de la ville et de son fleuve en admirant des sculptures placées dans des jardins luxuriants et des parterres de fleurs colorés sur les berges de la Tay. À allure modérée, le parcours prend en moyenne une heure et se termine dans le centre-ville, où vous pourrez faire une pause bien méritée dans l'un de ses nombreux cafés et restaurants.

14. Hôtel Salutation

A post shared by Janie Munro (@janiec55) on

Venez séjourner dans un hôtel qui accueille des hôtes depuis 1699. Le " Sally ", comme l'appellent les locaux, est considéré comme l'un des plus vieux hôtels d'Écosse. C'était autrefois la résidence privée de la famille Murray, et l'établissement a même hébergé Bonnie Prince Charlie.

N'oubliez pas que Perth et ses environs abritent une multitude de lieux et d'attractions étonnants. Rendez-vous sur notre site Web pour plus d'infos sur les activités, les attractions et plus encore !

Once upon a time, Perth was the capital of Scotland and a picturesque playground for kings and queens. Today, the city is laced with gorgeous city architecture, unrivalled surrounding landscapes and an intriguing royal history. The 'Fair City' of Scotland continues to inspire locals and travellers alike.

So, we asked you on Facebook and Twitter where you would take first time visitors to Perth, and we had an overwhelming response - thanks everyone!

1. Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery

Fancy a dram or two? Explore Dewar's Aberfeldy Distillery, on the outskirts of picturesque Aberfeldy, to taste whisky samples, learn about the creation process of the spirits, and relax in the atmospheric Whisky Lounge and cafĂ©. Don't forget to uncover the distillery's past and historic stories in the Heritage Museum too, which hosts a fascinating interactive exhibition.

2. The Bothy

A post shared by Bothy Perth (@bothyperth) on

Feeling peckish? Head to The Bothy on Kinnoull Street for a delicious menu full of traditional hearty food that you'll remember from growing up, all created using the finest and freshest local produce. Take a masterclass in cocktail making, book a pre-theatre meal, or just pop in for some afternoon tea - all are set to impress!

3. Concorde Music

A post shared by DJ Micky More (@djmickymore) on

If you're a Beethoven, Mozart, or classical music lover, or even the next Ed Sheeran, then you won't want to miss a trip to Concorde Music. This is Scotland's oldest established family record shop, circa 1967, and stocks thousands of CDs and DVD's, as well as a variety of vinyls, singles and picture discs, covering all genres of music.

4. Meikleour Beech Hedge

A post shared by Angela (@sightsonthesites) on

Come and see the longest hedge in Britain! The Meikleour Beech Hedge was planted in 1745 and stands at a whopping 100ft (30m) high and 530m long, and is recognised by the Guinness Book of World Records as the highest hedge in the world. It is thought to have been planted by men who were then called to fight in the Jacobite Rebellion, only to never return.

5. Fortingall Yew Tree

A post shared by Euan (@euanward) on

Uncover the Fortingall Yew, a heritage tree of international importance located within the Fortingall Churchyard in Aberfeldy. Thought to be one of the oldest living things in Europe at approximately somewhere between 3,000 and 9,000 years old with connections to early Christianity, the tree stood at its highest of 52ft tall in 1769 and is now surrounded by relics and offshoots of the original tree.

6. Kinnoull Hill

The highest of the five hills in the Kinnoull Hill Woodland Park - Scotland's first official woodland park, Kinnoull Hill is rated highly by locals as a hiking hotspot - for very good reason. Depending on your mood, a gentle or rigorous wander up this meandering hill rewards with sensational views across the River Tay.

7. Balhousie Castle

This fortress serves as an alluring introduction to the rest of Perth's history after living through centuries of turbulence. From the days of the Jacobites, to playing a key role in both the World Wars, the castle is now the home of the elite military regiment, The Black Watch. Explore The Black Watch Museum to see the past brought to life through incredible collections of ancient uniforms, fine paintings, medals, photographs, diaries, weapons and more.

8. Greyfriars Burial Ground

Nestled quietly in the centre of the city, this fascinating graveyard is adorned with some of the oldest monuments and headstones to be found anywhere in Scotland, such as the 'Weeping Woman' and the 'Adam and Eve' stones. Atmospheric tours of the graveyard are available, and give a fascinating insight into the livelihoods of former residents of the city.

9. River Tay

A post shared by Grant Dolier (@grantdolier) on

There is nothing fishy about hooking a catch in the River Tay, Scotland's longest river, which is widely regarded as one of the best spots for Atlantic salmon in Scotland. So, if you're angling for a day on the water, cast a line on the banks of this peaceful river which flows gently through Perth.

10. Fergusson Gallery

The Fergusson Gallery is devoted to the work of the Scottish colourist, John Fergusson, and his wife, Margaret Morris, a modern dancer. Based in the old Watertower, it is a fine example of the city's unique architectural heritage. The three galleries contained within display sketchbooks, costumes and photographs, illuminating the fascinating lives and loves of these two remarkable artists.

11. Branklyn Garden

A post shared by Hayley (@wild_shieldmaiden) on

For generations, Branklyn Garden has welcomed an explosion of colour from its exceptional setting on the side of Kinnoull Hill, which is only a short walk from the city and features many exotic plants from China, Tibet and Bhutan.

12. George Street

A post shared by 🐝 (@rosiefbrown) on

Why not find a unique little piece of Perth in some of the city's independent shops? On George Street, you can find whatever you are looking for whether it's beads, bikes, beans or buttons. The charming street is bursting with one-of-a-kind purchases, from vintage finds and beautiful fabrics, to lovely fresh flowers. Don't forget to stop for a delicious treat or a speciality coffee at Provender Brown, a fine food delicatessen.

13. River Tay Public Art Trail

River Tay Art Trail

Admire a collection of stunning public artworks along the River Tay Public Art Trail. Follow the artistic, natural and historical journey of the city and its river with thought-provoking sculptures placed in amongst glorious gardens and brightly-coloured riverside flowerbeds. At a moderate pace, the whole trail should take just over an hour to complete and ends in the city centre, where there are many cafés and restaurants in which to enjoy a well-earned refreshment.

14. Salutation Hotel

A post shared by Janie Munro (@janiec55) on

Stay in a hotel that has welcomed guests since 1699. The 'Sally', as it is known locally, is thought to be one of the oldest hotels in Scotland and it was once the private house of the Murray family. It has even played host to Bonnie Prince Charlie.

Don't forget - there are plenty of other fantastic things to see and do in Perth and the surrounding area. Check out our website for more tips on activities, attractions and much more!