Outdoors

De magnifiques paysages. Un siège confortable. Pas besoin de conduire. Oui, voyager en train est l'un des meilleurs moyens pour admirer les paysages incroyables de l'Écosse. Si vous utilisez le Spirit of Scotland Travelpass, vous pourrez voyager à travers l'Écosse librement et simplement.

Commencez votre aventure à Glasgow et continuez sur la côte du sud-ouest, en passant par de superbes parcours de golf, des plages étincelantes et les terres qui ont inspiré Robert Burns. Grâce au Travelpass illimité, vous êtes libre de monter et de descendre à tous les arrêts de votre choix. Vous pouvez même ajouter un petit détour par l'île d'Arran à ce voyage.

Pourquoi ne pas y passer quatre jours pour avoir le temps d’admirer les paysages magnifiques et de découvrir des attractions et des activités passionnantes ?

Transport

Ferry Bus Á pied

Jours

4

Miles

92

Parcours

Glasgow, Paisley, Irvine, île d'Arran, Troon, Ayr, Alloway, Stranraer

Points phares

Le Style Mile de Glasgow, Paisley, l'île d'Arran, le château de Brodick, le château de Culzean, le Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, le Royal Troon, les jardins du château de Kennedy

Zones couvertes

Glasgow city centre, Ayrshire & Arran, Dumfries & Galloway

voir l'itinéraire complet

Jour 1

Présentation

Glasgow et Paisley

Le voyage commence à Glasgow Central avant de partir vers l'ouest pour la ville créative de Paisley, célèbre pour la conception des motifs Paisley caractéristiques. Avant de prendre le train, passez quelques heures dans la ville élégante de Glasgow.

Vous pouvez prendre un bus touristique de la ville (des réductions sont disponibles pour les détenteurs du Travelpass) pour en découvrir les meilleurs monuments et attractions.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Bus Á pied

Paisley Abbey, Paisley

Le Style Mile de Glasgow

Promenez-vous dans les meilleurs coins shopping de Glasgow et faites-vous plaisir avec quelques emplettes. Retrouvez toutes vos grandes marques préférées, ainsi que des boutiques de designers. Le quartier commercial est aussi parsemé de délicieux restaurants, de bars branchés où se relaxer avec un cocktail et de charmants salons de thé où prendre un thé et une part de gâteau.

The Lighthouse

Au détour des rues de Glasgow, vous pourrez admirer les magnifiques conceptions de Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The Lighthouse, dans Mitchell Lane, est l'un des premiers bâtiments conçus par Mackintosh, et à l'origine il était destiné à accueillir les bureaux du journal Glasgow Herald. Il abrite désormais le Centre du Design et de l'Architecture d'Écosse. Il n'est qu'à quelques minutes de marche de la gare de Glasgow Central, alors allez y jeter un œil avant de continuer votre voyage.

Abbaye de Paisley

Faites le court trajet entre Glasgow Central et Paisley, un village à l'histoire riche et aux nombreux bâtiments éblouissants. La magnifique abbaye du village daterait du XIIe siècle. Il est aussi connu pour ses textiles, en particulier le motif Paisley. Vous pourrez admirer de sublimes châles, tissus et objets au Paisley Museum & Art Gallery, qui s’intéresse au développement de l'industrie dans la ville à partir du XIXe siècle, ainsi que des expositions de peintures et autres œuvres d'art écossaises.

Jour 2

Présentation

Irvine et l'île d'Arran

Remontez dans le train et vous ne le regretterez pas ! Vous passerez bientôt par des villages côtiers merveilleux. Vous pouvez changer de train à Irvine pour Ardrossan, où vous pourrez prendre le ferry pour l'île d'Arran. Passez la journée à explorer l’une des îles les plus incroyables d'Écosse, avec son château impressionnant, des reliefs montagneux et des mets et boissons délicieux. Arran a tout ce qu'il vous faut !

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Ferry Bus Á pied

North Goatfell, Isle of Arran © Fotolia - David Woods

Irvine

Profitez de l'air marin de cette petite ville, qui est l'un des anciens lieux de prédilection de Robert Burns et un marché historique. Apprenez-en plus sur son patrimoine maritime au musée local Scottish Maritime Museum, ou arrêtez-vous manger un morceau au Ship Inn. De là, prenez le train pour Ardrossan.

Château de Brodick et Goatfell

À partir d'Ardrossan, le ferry naviguera vers Brodick où vous pourrez admirer de superbes jardins et un château, perchés sur le sommet spectaculaire de Goatfell. Le château surplombe le Firth of Clyde et la baie de Brodick. Apprenez tout ce qu'il y a à savoir sur l'histoire de cette forteresse majestueuse et explorez les terres et les sentiers forestiers. L'intérieur du château est vraiment impressionnant, avec un décor élégant et un mobilier raffiné.

La Island Cheese Company

Arran est renommée pour ses produits locaux savoureux, en particulier son délicieux fromage crémeux. Vous pourrez assister à la fabrication du fromage à partir de lait venant de trois producteurs locaux dans la boutique de la ferme. Faites le plein de quelques délices fromagers avant de repartir vers le continent, ou achetez une sélection de fromages dans la boutique et pique-niquez sur l'île.

Jour 3

Présentation

Troon

Revenez sur vos pas jusqu'au continent, où vous pourrez rejoindre la voie ferrée en direction de Troon. Arrêtez-vous pour explorer cette ville côtière animée qui donne sur Ailsa Craig et Arran et qui est un véritable paradis pour les golfeurs et les marins.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Bus Á pied

Troon Yacht Haven © Ayrshire & Arran Tourism Team

Club de golf du Royal Troon

Il existe sept parcours de golf à Troon et aux alentours, et l'un de ses clubs les plus connus est le Royal Troon merveilleusement situé, qui se prépare à accueillir le 145e Open britannique en juillet.

Troon Beach

Promenez-vous le long de l'esplanade de Troon Beach où vous pourrez manger un fish & chips ou une crème glacée en contemplant l'océan. Le Troon Yacht Haven est à proximité et propose des équipements de qualité aux plaisanciers en visite.

Jour 4

Présentation

Ayr et Stranraer

La dernière partie de l'itinéraire va plus au sud, à travers la ville d'Ayr, où vous pourrez explorer la région qui a influencé les premières œuvres de Robert Burns ou passer la journée aux courses. Continuez vers le sud et vous croiserez le magnifique château de Culzean, et si vous prenez le train jusqu'à Stranraer, pensez à regarder par la fenêtre pour admirer la fabuleuse vue sur Ailsa Craig en passant Girvan.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Bus Voiture Á pied

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Alloway

Champ de courses d'Ayr

Ayr est une autre ville côtière charmante avec beaucoup de boutiques et lieux où s'arrêter manger un morceau. Si vous aimez les paris, pourquoi ne pas passer une journée aux courses ? L'hippodrome a ouvert en 1907, bien que les courses d’Ayr remontent à plusieurs centaines d'années.

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum

Petite banlieue à tout juste 4 km d'Ayr, Alloway est le lieu de naissance de Robert Burns, et elle accueille désormais le fascinant musée Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, où vous pourrez admirer les possessions et œuvres originales du poète.

Après avoir visité le musée, découvrez les autres hommages à « Rabbie » à Alloway, comme le Brig o' Doon ou l'Alloway's Auld Kirk.

Le château de Culzean

Descendez du train à Maybole pour admirer un autre château incroyable. Situé au sommet d'une falaise surplombant le Firth of Clyde, le château de Culzean ne manque pas de grandeur avec ses intérieurs richement décorés et son vaste domaine. Il est associé à la famille Kennedy depuis le XIVe siècle et a été repensé par le célèbre architecte écossais Robert Adam dans les années 1770.

Stranraer

Restez dans le train jusqu'à atteindre Stranraer et saisissez l'opportunité d'explorer cette charmante région du Dumfries and Galloway. De là, vous êtes à l'orée de la magnifique péninsule de Rhins of Galloway et à moins de 5 km du refuge paisible des jardins et du château de Kennedy.

Votre aventure en train s'arrête peut-être ici, mais pourquoi ne pas saisir l'opportunité pour explorer davantage le sud-ouest de l'Écosse ?

Résumé

Politique de cookies

VisitScotland utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez notre politique d'utilisation de cookies. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez lire notre nouvelle déclaration de confidentialité et de cookies.

Outdoors

Beautiful scenery. A comfy seat. No driving. Yes, travelling by train is one of the best ways to see Scotland's incredible landscapes. Using the Spirit of Scotland Travelpass, you can travel across Scotland with complete ease and freedom. 

Start your adventure in Glasgow and make your way along the south west coast, travelling past glorious golf courses, brilliant beaches, and the land that inspired Robert Burns. With the unlimited Travelpass you can be flexible; hopping on and off at any stop that takes your fancy. You can even make this trip include a little venture to the Isle of Arran.

Why not make a four-day trip of it, stopping to see some of these amazing sights, attractions and things to see and do?

Transport

Ferry Bus Walk

Days

4

Miles

92

Route

Glasgow, Paisley, Irvine, Isle of Arran, Troon, Ayr, Alloway, Stranraer

Highlights

Glasgow Style Mile, Paisley, Isle of Arran, Brodick Castle, Culzean Castle, Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Royal Troon, Castle Kennedy Gardens

Areas Covered

Glasgow city centre, Ayrshire & Arran, Dumfries & Galloway

see full route

Day 1

overview

Glasgow & Paisley

The journey departs from Glasgow Central, before travelling west to the artsy town of Paisley, famous for manufacturing the distinctive Paisley pattern. Before you hop on the train, spend some time in the stylish city of Glasgow. 

Consider taking the City Sightseeing Bus (discounts are available with the Travelpass) which will showcase all the top landmarks and attractions.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Bus Walk

Paisley Abbey, Paisley

Glasgow Style Mile

Take a walk through Glasgow's most famous shopping spots and treat yourselves to a spot of retail therapy. Find all of your high street favourites, as well as designer boutiques. The shopping district is also dotted with delicious restaurants, trendy bars to relax with a cocktail, and charming tea rooms for tea and cake. 

The Lighthouse

Across Glasgow, you'll be able to admire the beautiful designs of Charles Rennie Mackintosh. The Lighthouse, on Mitchell Lane, is one of Mackintosh's earliest buildings and was originally designed as the Glasgow Herald newspaper offices. It is now home to Scotland's Centre for Design & Architecture. It's just a few minutes' walk from Glasgow Central train station, so pop in here for a look before you embark upon your journey.

Paisley Abbey

Take the short journey from Glasgow Central to Paisley, a town with a rich history and several gorgeous buildings. The town's magnificent abbey is thought to date back to the 12th century. The town is also known for its textiles, particularly the Paisley pattern. You can see beautiful shawls, fabrics and items at the Paisley Museum & Art Gallery, which explores how the industry grew in the town from the 19th century onwards, as well as exhibits of Scottish paintings and other works of art. 

Day 2

overview

Irvine & Isle of Arran

Hop back on the train, and you won't regret it! Soon enough, you'll be passing through some blissful coastal towns. From Irvine, you can change trains towards Ardrossan, where you can catch the ferry over to the Isle of Arran. Spend a day exploring one of Scotland's most incredible isles; with its impressive castle, mountainous terrain and delicious food and drink. Arran has it all!
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Ferry Bus Walk

North Goatfell, Isle of Arran © Fotolia - David Woods

Irvine

Enjoy the sea air in this little town, which is a former haunt of Robert Burns and a historic marketplace. Learn about the town's maritime heritage at the local Scottish Maritime Museum, or stop for a bite to eat at the Ship Inn. From here, catch the train to Ardrossan.   

Brodick Castle & Goatfell

From Ardrossan, the ferry will sail into Brodick, where you will explore a beautiful castle and gardens, perched on the dramatic peak of Goatfell. The castle overlooks the Firth of Clyde and Brodick Bay. Learn all about the history of this grand fortress and explore the grounds and woodland trails. The castle's interior is really outstanding, with its elegant décor and fine furnishings. 

Island Cheese Company

Arran is definitely famed for its tasty local produce, especially its delicious creamy cheese. At the farm shop, you can watch as the cheese is made using milk from three local producers. Stock up on a few cheesy delights before heading back to the Mainland, or purchase a selection of cheeses from the shop and have a picnic on the island. 

Day 3

overview

Troon

Retrace your steps back to the Mainland, where you can re-join the rail route heading towards Troon. Stop here to explore this bustling seaside town, which overlooks Ailsa Craig and Arran, and is an absolute haven for golfers and sailors alike.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Bus Walk

Troon Yacht Haven © Ayrshire & Arran Tourism Team

Royal Troon Golf Club

There are seven golf courses in and around Troon, and one of its most famous clubs is the beautifully situated Royal Troon, which is gearing up to host the 145th Open Championship in July.

Troon Beach

Have a stroll along the esplanade at Troon Beach, where you can have fish and chips or an ice cream whilst gazing out towards the ocean. Troon Yacht Haven is in close proximity, offering excellent facilities for visiting yachtsmen.

Day 4

overview

Ayr and Stranraer

The last part of the route goes further south, through the town of Ayr, where you can explore the area that influenced Robert Burns' early works or enjoy a day at the races. Continue southwards, and you'll pass the magnificent Culzean Castle, and if you take the train all the way to Stranraer, be sure to look out of the window for fabulous views of Ailsa Craig as you go past Girvan.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Bus Car Walk

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Alloway

Ayr Racecourse

Ayr is another lovely seaside spot with lots of shops and places to stop for a bite to eat. If you fancy a flutter, why not spend a day at the races? This racecourse opened in 1907, although there has been racing in Ayr for hundreds of years.

Robert Burns Birthplace Museum

A small suburb just two and a half miles from Ayr, Alloway is the birthplace of the Robert Burns, and it now houses the fascinating Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, where you can admire the poet's original works and personal belongings.

After visiting the museum, explore the other tributes to 'Rabbie' in Alloway, including the Brig o' Doon or Alloway's Auld Kirk.

Culzean Castle

Get off the train at Maybole to admire another incredible castle. Standing on a clifftop overlooking the Firth of Clyde, Culzean Castle is brimming with grandeur, with its ornate interiors and extensive grounds. It has been associated with the Kennedy family since the 14th century and was redesigned by the famous Scottish architect Robert Adam in the 1770s.

Stranraer

Stay on the train all the way down to Stranraer and take the opportunity to explore this lovely part of Dumfries & Galloway. From here, you are on the cusp of the glorious Rhins of Galloway peninsula, and just three miles away from the peaceful retreat of Castle Kennedy Gardens.

Your rail adventure may end here, but why not take the opportunity to explore more of the south west of Scotland?

Summary

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our new privacy and cookies statement for more information.