Destinations et cartes

Édimbourg et les Lothians

Édimbourg et les Lothians sont si proches, et pourtant si différents. La capitale cosmopolite de l'Écosse borde la campagne luxuriante et le littoral accueillant des Lothians, et ces deux lieux permettent aux visiteurs de profiter d'un mélange captivant d'histoire, de beauté naturelle et d'aventure. Toutes les conditions sont réunies pour passer des vacances fantastiques qui allient le meilleur des deux mondes!

Une histoire riche

Quand nous disons que la région recèle de nombreuses attractions historiques, nous ne vous racontons pas d'histoires. De la fortification impressionnante du château de Tantallon, située en haut d'une falaise à North Berwick, à l'imposant château de Blackness près de Linlithgow, en passant par la magnifique demeure palladienne d'Arniston House à Gorebridge, et par Gladstone's Land, en haut du Royal Mile d'Édimbourg : préparez vous à des activités par milliers ! Édimbourg est également une ville chargée d'histoire. Entre son château connu dans le monde entier, perché sur une roche volcanique, et son palais, la résidence officielle de Sa Majesté la reine en Écosse, entre la Georgian House et le Musée national d'Écosse, y compris chaque brique et chaque allée pavée, la ville est un joyau historique.

La beauté au naturel

Inutile de voyager loin du centre-ville d'Édimbourg pour découvrir la magnifique campagne des Lothians. Dirigez-vous vers le parc régional de Pentland Hills à la périphérie de la ville, délectez-vous de magnifiques vues sur les environs et les plages de sable le long de la John Muir Way, observez des animaux incroyables au Polkemmet Country Park, et promenez-vous le long des jolies plages de Portobello, à quelques kilomètres du centre-ville. Mais n'oubliez pas : vous deviendrez vite accro au paysage !

Vivez l'aventure

Que vous soyez en quête d'aventures fortes ou de randonnées tranquilles, Édimbourg et les Lothians vous permettront de pratiquer toutes les activités en plein air de votre choix. Escaladez l'imposant Arthur’s Seat emblématique, explorez la région à vélo, perfectionnez votre swing dans l'East Lothian, « la côte des golfeurs » écossaise, et si vous aimez l'eau, choisissez parmi tous les sports aquatiques qui s'offrent à vous.

Retour

Dalkeith

Towns & Villages
Dalkeith is a small town south-east of Edinburgh.

Dunbar

Towns & Villages
Dunbar is a pleasant coastal town in East Lothian.

Edinburgh - City Centre

City
Central Edinburgh has two distinct parts, divided by Princes Street, which runs roughly east-west under the shadow of Castle Rock.

Haddington

Towns & Villages
Haddington is a genteel, orderly town set amongst agricultural country in East Lothian.

Linlithgow

Towns & Villages
Linlithgow is famous for its Palace, birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots.

Livingston

Towns & Villages
Livingston is a 'New Town' west of Edinburgh.

Musselburgh

Towns & Villages
Musselburgh is a historic town in East Lothian, well known for golf, and its racecourse.

North Berwick

Towns & Villages
North Berwick is a vibrant and scenic harbour town in East Lothian, boasting great beaches, and an eclectic mix of shops, cafes and bars, not to mention world-renowned golf courses.

Penicuik

Towns & Villages
Penicuik in Midlothian is the gateway to both the attractions of its own county and to Edinburgh and the Borders.

South Queensferry

Towns & Villages
South Queensferry is located on the southern shore of the Firth of Forth, between the iconic Forth Bridges – the railway bridge and the road bridge across the Forth.

Dunbar Information Point

VisitScotland Information Centres

Edinburgh Airport Information Centre

VisitScotland Information Centres
The Information Centre is happy to welcome and assist all visitors. Friendly staff provide knowledgeable information about travel, accommodation and places of interest for Edinburgh and Scotland.

Edinburgh Information Centre

VisitScotland Information Centres
Edinburgh Information Centre welcomes you to Scotland. Find us on Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh, Scotland’s historic capital. This one-stop shop helps you make the most of your time, and enhance your trip.

North Berwick Information Point

VisitScotland Information Centres

Voyagez à Édimbourg et dans les Lothians

S'y rendre

La région dispose d’un large réseau de routes, de voies ferrées et de liaisons aériennes pour rendre les voyages vers Édimbourg et les Lothians rapides et pratiques depuis tous les coins du monde. La ville propose également d’excellents accès aux autoroutes écossaises, ainsi qu’un service de trains et de bus régulier.

Se déplacer

Est-il facile de s'y déplacer? Tout à fait! Édimbourg est une ville très compacte, elle est donc très facile à explorer. Vous pouvez vous déplacer à pied, à vélo ou grâce au vaste réseau de bus et de trains réguliers, qui permet de rejoindre les villes et villages des Lothians rapidement. La ville dispose également de plusieurs parkings relais, mais vous pouvez aussi héler un taxi.

Un volcan au cœur de la ville ?! Oui, et même deux ! Mais pas de problèmes, ils sont éteints !

Arthur's Seat et Castle Rock

Vous n'auriez sûrement jamais pensé qu'ils avaient craché des cendres et de la lave un jour ?

Politique de cookies

VisitScotland utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez notre politique d'utilisation de cookies. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez lire notre nouvelle déclaration de confidentialité et de cookies.

Destinations and maps

Edinburgh & The Lothians

Edinburgh & The Lothians are so close, yet they're both so very different. Scotland's cosmopolitan capital city borders with miles of lush countryside and the attractive coastline of the Lothians, which offer visitors a captivating blend of rich history, natural beauty and adventure. This certainly ticks all the boxes for a fantastic holiday that combines the best of both worlds!

Rich history

We are not lying when we say that the region bursts with historical attractions. From the striking clifftop fortification of Tantallon Castle in North Berwick and the imposing Blackness Castle near Linlithgow to the magnificent Palladian style mansion of Arniston House in Gorebridge and Gladstone's Land at the top of Edinburgh's Royal Mile - be prepared to be swamped for choices! Edinburgh itself is steeped in history. From its world-famous castle, perched atop a volcanic rock, to its palace, HM The Queen's official residence in Scotland, and from the Georgian House to the National Museum of Scotland and every brick and cobbled alley in between - the city is a historical jewel.

Natural beauty

You don't need to travel far from Edinburgh city centre to escape to the beautiful countryside of the Lothians. Head to Pentland Hills Regional Park on the outskirts of the city, savour some magnificent sights of sweeping landscapes and sandy beaches along the John Muir Way, spot incredible wildlife at Polkemmet Country Park and stroll along Portobello's pretty beach which is only a stone throw away from the city centre. Be warned - the views are addictive!

Live the adventure

Adrenaline seekers and casual ramblers will be at home in Edinburgh & The Lothians with a great range of outdoor activities. Scale the imposing and iconic Arthur's Seat, explore the region by bike, practice your swing in East Lothian, Scotland's 'Golf Coast', and if you're a water baby you can try out your skills with an amazing range of watersports.

Travel in Edinburgh & The Lothians

Getting here

The region enjoys an extensive network of road, rail and flight links which make travel to Edinburgh & The Lothians quick and convenient from every corner of the world. The city also enjoys great access to the Scottish motorway network, and regular train and coach services.

Getting around

Is it easy to move around? Most definitely! Edinburgh is a super compact city which makes exploring really easy. You can get around on foot, by bike, or use the extensive bus and railway network, which offers fast and regular service connecting the city with the surrounding towns and villages in the Lothians. There are also several parks & ride services, or you can hail a cab.

Volcano in the heart of the city?! Yes, even two! But it's okay - they're dormant!

Arthur's Seat & The Castle Rock

Would you have guessed that they once spewed ash and lava?

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our new privacy and cookies statement for more information.