Wenn es um einzigartige Sehenswürdigkeiten und einmalige Aussichtspunkte geht, hat Edinburgh viel zu bieten. Schlendern Sie durch die Stadt und staunen Sie über das, was Sie entdecken können. Hier sind einige Empfehlungen von uns und unserer iKnow-Community für Geheimtipps, nach denen Sie Ausschau halten sollten.

1. Jupiter Artland

Jupiter Artland
'Life Mounds' von Charles Jencks im Jupiter Artland

Jupiter Artland öffnet seine Pforten für Besucher von Mai bis September und ist eine Grünfläche gleich außerhalb der Stadt. Spazieren Sie durch die Wälder und entdecken Sie die Kunstwerke, die auf dem gesamten Gelände installiert sind.

2. Die Edinburgh Gin Destillerie

Drinks and bottles of Edinburgh Gin
Cannonball Gin © Edinburgh Gin

Am Rutland Place am Ende der Princes Street stellt die Edinburgh Gin Distillery unterschiedliche Gin-Sorten und -Liköre her. Buchen Sie eine Führung, um alles über die Geschichte und die Herstellung von Gin zu erfahren. Sie können die beiden bronzenen Destilleriekolben, durch die jeder Tropfen des Gins hindurchläuft, sehen und anschließend selbst den einen oder anderen Schluck probieren.

3. Dean Village

Well Court in Dean Village
Dean Village

Gleich am Water of Leith und nur wenige Gehminuten vom beliebten Stockbridge entfernt finden Sie Dean Village. Hier zeigt sich wieder einmal die spektakuläre Architektur der Stadt. Folgen Sie den ruhigen Pfaden am Ufer Richtung Westen und Sie werden einige erstaunliche Bauwerke entdecken. Gleich um die Ecke liegt die Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.

4. Das Water of Leith

The Shore, Leith
The Shore, Leith

Wenn Sie dem Weg, der sich durch Stockbridge und Dean Village schlängelt, weiter folgen, kommen Sie irgendwann bei The Shore an - in diesem Teil der Stadt tummeln sich Sternerestaurants, hervorragende Lokale, die Meeresfrüchte anbieten, sowie trendige Cafés und Bistros. Besuchen Sie The Pitt Street Food Market, der an den meisten Samstagen geöffnet hat, oder belohnen Sie sich bei Teuchter's Landing mit einem Pint auf der Terrasse mit Blick aufs Wasser.

5. Panda & Sons

Diese Bar, die an den Stil der Prohibition erinnert, bietet eine große Auswahl an klassischen und kreativen Cocktails. Panda & Sons ist nicht ganz leicht zu finden, aber die Suche lohnt sich. In der Hanover Street sollten Sie sich die legendäre (alkoholhaltige) Eiscreme im Hoot the Redeemer nicht entgehen lassen.

6. Dr Neil's Garden

Dr Neil's Garden, der manchmal auch der geheime Garten Schottlands genannt wird, ist ein kleines Paradis neben der Duddingston Kirk und ganz in der Nähe von Arthur's Seat. Durch die vielen bunten Blumen und wundervoll arrangierten Pflanzen können Sie in dieser Oase für eine kurze Zeit der Realität entfliehen. Hier finden Sie den Thomson's Tower, der 1825 erbaut wurde, um die Curlingsteine der Duddingston Curling Society aufzubewahren. Im Sheep's Heid Inn können Sie den Tag schließlich bei einem herzhaften Abendessen ausklingen lassen.

7. Die Dachterrasse des National Museum of Scotland

A post shared by Monika Zajícová (@monizaj) on

Vielleicht kennen Sie bereits das National Museum of Scotland in der Chambers Street und haben es auch schon das eine oder andere Mal besucht. Aber haben Sie es auch in den 7. Stock geschafft? Dort begrüßt Sie nämlich eine 360-Grad-Aussicht auf die Stadt.  

8. Cramond

Sie denken, ein Städtetrip und ein Strandbesuch kann man nicht miteinander kombinieren? Nicht so in Edinburgh. Die lange schottische Küste garantiert, dass der nächste Strand nie weit von Ihnen weg ist. Besuchen Sie Cramond und spazieren Sie über den Damm, der nur bei Niedrigwasser zugänglich ist, hinüber zur Cramond Island (sehen Sie vorher in der Gezeitentabelle nach und planen Sie ausreichend Zeit für den Rückweg ein). Zurück an Land können Sie sich eine Tasse Tee am Boardwalk Beach Club oder auch eine Portion Fish and Chips im gemütlichen Cramond Inn gönnen.  

9. Die Thistle Chapel in der St Giles' Cathedral

Chapel of the Order of the Thistle, St Giles' Cathedral
Die St Giles' Cathedral, Royal Mile

Bei einem Spaziergang über die Royal Mile sollten Sie einen Blick in das Innere der St. Giles Cathedral werfen. Die gotische Bauweise, die bunten Kirchenfenster und das Deckengewölbe der Thistle Chapel sind beeindruckend. Wenn Sie der Royal Mile weiter Richtung Parlament folgen und in eine Seitenstraße abbiegen, finden Sie den Dunbar's Close Garden, der wie ein Garten aus dem 17. Jahrhundert angelegt ist.

10. Die Surgeons' Hall Museums

Die Surgeons' Hall Museums liegen nur fünf Gehminuten von der Royal Mile entfernt und präsentiert eine Sammlung aus chirurgischen Werkzeugen, faszinierenden Gemälden und ja, auch einigen Körperteilen, die in Gläsern aufbewahrt werden. In diesem Museum können Sie mehr über die Entwicklungsgeschichte der Chirurgie lernen und herausfinden, welche schottischen Persönlichkeiten einige der größten medizinischen Entdeckungen unserer Zeit gemacht haben.

11. Portobello Beach

Portobello Beach, Edinburgh
Portobello Beach, Edinburgh

Nur wenige Kilometer vom Stadtzentrum entfernt liegt Portobello Beach, ein Ort mit typischem Küstencharme. Genießen Sie einen Crêpe oder ein Eis, während Sie an der Promenade entlangflanieren. Besuchen Sie die Spielhallen oder statten Sie dem Schwimmbad, das mit einem türkischen Bad, einem Dampfbad und einem Entspannungsbereich aufwartet, einen Besuch ab.

12. The Stand Comedy Club

Das jährlich stattfindende Fringe Festival, bei dem Künstler und Artisten aus aller Welt auftreten, ist weltweit bekannt. Sie müssen aber nicht zwingend im August nach Schottland kommen, um eine gute Show zu erleben. Im The Stand Comedy Club sind einige der größten britischen Comedians aufgetreten, von Frankie Boyle bis Sarah Millican.

13. Summerhall

Dieses historische Gebäude, das einst die Royal Dick Vet School war, befindet gleich neben dem Park The Meadows und ist heute eine Bar und ein Veranstaltungsort. In der Summerhall finden Sie Kunst, Ausstellungen, Museen, sowie eine kleine Destillerie und Craftbier-Brauerei. Besuchen Sie die Bar für ein Abendessen, nachdem Sie eine Tour durch die Destillerie gemacht haben. Probieren Sie das Summerhall Pale Ale von Barney's Beer oder Pickering's Gin.

14. Lauriston Castle

Das aus dem 16. Jahrhundert stammende Landhaus liegt im westlichen Teil der Stadt im grünen Stadtteil Cramond, der nur knapp 5 km vom Stadtzentrum entfernt ist. Erkunden Sie die wunderschönen Gärten von Lauriston Castle, darunter ein Japanischer Garten, der ein Geschenk des Verwaltungsbezirks Kyoto war.

Haben Sie einen Lieblingsort in Edinburgh, den Sie gerne mit der Welt teilen möchten? Besuchen Sie doch unsere iKnow-Community und teilen Sie Ihr Wissen. Sie können Ihre Erlebnisse auch unter #OnlyinScotland in den sozialen Medien mit uns teilen.

When it comes to unique attractions and picture perfect beauty spots, Edinburgh has more than a few to share. Enjoy a wander around the city and you'll be rewarded with much more than you bargained for. So what hidden gems should you be looking for? Here are some suggestions from our iKnow Community, along with a few of our own for good measure ...

1. Jupiter Artland

Jupiter Artland  'Life Mounds' by Charles Jencks at Jupiter Artland

Open from May - September, Jupiter Artland is a wonderful green space located just outside the city centre. Enjoy a walk through the trees in this scenic spot and see the works of art that are installed throughout the gardens.

2. Edinburgh Gin Distillery

Drinks and bottles of Edinburgh GinCannonball Gin © Edinburgh Gin

Located on Rutland Place at the west end of Princes Street, the Edinburgh Gin Distillery produces a delectable range of gins and gin liqueurs. Book a tour of the distillery to learn all about the history of gin and how it's made. You'll see the two gleaming copper stills that make every drop of Edinburgh Gin before tasting a sample for yourself. If you have a real passion for gin, consider booking the gin making experience - it comes with a bottle of your own unique gin to take home.

3. Dean Village

Well Court in Dean Village Dean Village

Bordering the Water of Leith and just a few minutes from the local favourite Stockbridge, Dean Village boasts some of the capital's most spectacular architecture. Follow the peaceful path along the water's edge and towards the west of the city, admiring the distinctive sandstone mills and stylish Tudor revivals en route. You're not far from the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art either.

4. Water of Leith

The Shore, Leith The Shore, Leith

Continue along the leafy, quiet pathway which weaves its way through the city and you'll eventually reach the Shore, an area of the city packed full of Michelin-star restaurants, seafood spots and trendy cafés and bistros! Stop along the way at The Pitt Street food market which takes place most Saturdays during the year, or reward yourself with a refreshing pint on the waterfront terrace at Teuchter's Landing - nothing beats this spot on a summer's evening!

5. Panda & Sons

A post shared by Jessica Zamberlan (@jblonde) on

Panda & Sons, Queen Street

This classic Prohibition-style speakeasy offers an array of classic and creative cocktails, with fun décor and nods to a vintage barber shop. Panda & Sons is a little hidden away, but keep looking - it's worth a visit for a delicious tipple! Or, find out if Rose Street's Bryant & Mack  is a cocktail bar or a detective agency, and try the legendary boozy ice cream, vending machine treats and slushies at Hoot the Redeemer on Hanover Street.

6. Dr Neil's Garden

Dr Neil's Garden, Duddingston 

Sometimes referred to as Scotland's secret garden, Dr Neil's Garden is a little haven beside Duddingston Kirk and on the lower slopes of Arthur's Seat is a fabulous place for a little escape from the real world, with brightly-coloured plants to admire everywhere you look. In one corner, there's Thomson's Tower, built in 1825 as a place for storing Duddingston Curling Society's stones. While you're in the village, a stop to the Sheep's Heid is a must for a hearty roast dinner.

7. Rooftop terrace, National Museum of Scotland

A post shared by Monika Zajícová (@monizaj) on

The roof at the National Museum of Scotland

You may have visited the wonderful National Museum of Scotland on Chambers Street before, but did you venture up to the rooftop viewing platform on the 7th floor, to see the incredible 360 degree views of the city skyline?  

8. Cramond

Cramond Beach  

Don't worry beach bums, a city break in Edinburgh can quickly turn into a beach break holiday with several coastlines to choose from! At Cramond, walk out along the tidal causeway to Cramond Island (be sure to check the tides and leave enough time to return to dry land!), stop for a cuppa at the Boardwalk Beach Club or sit down for fish and chips in the cosy Cramond Inn.  

9. Thistle Chapel in St Giles' Cathedral

Chapel of the Order of the Thistle, St Giles' CathedralSt Giles' Cathedral, Royal Mile

Also on the Royal Mile, why not pop into St Giles' Cathedral and marvel at some of Edinburgh's most impressive architecture? As well as Victorian stained glass windows and Gothic style stonework the stunning Thistle Chapel's magnificent ceiling is a sight to behold. Further down the Royal Mile, look out for Dunbar's Close Garden, which are laid out like a 17th century garden, tucked away down an alley just off the main street.

10. Surgeons' Hall Museums

Surgeon's Hall Museum, Edinburgh Photo by Anne via Flickr | Creative Commons

Just a five minute walk from the Royal Mile, the Surgeons' Hall Museums are a treasure trove of surgical tools, fascinating paintings and - yes - more than a few body parts in jars. Learn about the evolution of surgery throughout the ages and find out how great Scottish minds brought us some of the medical breakthroughs we take for granted today.

11. Portobello Beach

Portobello Beach, EdinburghPortobello Beach

Just a few miles from the city centre, Portobello Beach oozes traditional seaside charm. Enjoy a hot crêpe or an ice cream as you stroll along the promenade, play fun games at the amusement arcades or visit the indoor swimming pool with Turkish Baths where you can unwind with three hot rooms, a steam room, a relaxation area and cold plunge pool.

12. The Stand Comedy Club

The Stand Photo by Russell McGovern via Flickr | Creative Commons

Edinburgh is famed for its annual Festival Fringe, the largest arts festival in the world, but you don't need to visit in August to be guaranteed some laughs. The Stand Comedy Club has seen some of the UK's most popular comedians take to its stage, from Frankie Boyle to Sarah Millican and many more.

13. Summerhall

Summerhall Photo by lizsmith via Flickr | Creative Commons

Looking out across The Meadows, Summerhall is a landmark building in Edinburgh and well known for being the former Royal Dick Vet School. Now it's a cool multi arts venue with a packed events programme, exhibitions and small museums - plus a boutique gin distillery and craft brewery. Grab a snack in the café or a meal in the restaurant (where you can try Summerhall Pale Ale brewed by Barney's Beer) and book a tour of Summerhall Distillery to see how Pickering's Gin is made.

14. Lauriston Castle

Lauriston Castle-00138 Photo by Kit Carruthers via Flickr | Creative Commons

This 16th century tower house on the west side of Edinburgh, just three miles from Princes Street, contains wonderful collections of beautiful objects, including colourful tapestries, fine Italian furniture and vases made from the rare Blue John stone. Lauriston Castle's grounds also feature a stunning Japanese Friendship garden gifted by the prefecture of Kyoto.

15. Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove

Gilmerton Cove is a series of hand carved passageways and chambers that lie hidden beneath the streets of Gilmerton, in the south of the city. Enter the cove through the visitor centre, a former mining cottage, and admire features that have puzzled experts for centuries.

Do you have a favourite place in Edinburgh that you think the world should know about? Why not head over to our iKnow Scotland community forum and sing its praises!