Standing high on Lilliards Edge above the village of Ancrum, the magnificent mausoleum of General Sir Thomas Monteath Douglas is a hidden gem in the Scottish Borders.
Built in 1864 to overlook the Battle of Ancrum Moor (1545) site, the mausoleum is guarded by two stone lions on the outside, one awake and one, mysteriously, asleep. Inside the crypt two huge carved angels stand over the sarcophagus, while soft green light filters down from the star studded roof.
Recently restored to its original condition, the building has spectacular views of the Cheviot Hills, the Waterloo Monument at Peniel Heugh, the Eildon Hills and the gentle countryside of the Tweed valley.
The site is open to walkers, cyclists and horse riders every day of the year. A key is available to unlock the massive oak doors to see the angels and star studded roof. During normal times the site is also open for vehicles (not coaches) on six weekends in the summer months, when a guide is on hand to show visitors around.
For full details and further information about obtaining a key, see our website at