Arts and Culture

Plus qu'un simple décors d'arrière-plan, l'Écosse ajoute à de nombreux films sa touche particulière en termes d'ambiance, de la mystérieuse chapelle de Rosslyn du Da Vinci Code aux superbes paysages des Highlands de Braveheart, Harry Potter et Skyfall.

Grâce à cet itinéraire, découvrez par vous-même ces célèbres lieux de tournage et vous comprendrez facilement pourquoi les cinéastes aiment venir et revenir dans ces superbes paysages pour leurs films.

Transport

Voiture

Jours

7

Miles

715

Parcours

de la péninsule de Machars jusqu'à Callendar

Points phares

Lieux de tournage, paysages

Zones couvertes

All of Scotland (South, West, East and North)

voir l'itinéraire complet

Jour 1

Présentation

La péninsule de Machars, Port Logan et Stranraer

Votre premier jour commence dans le Dumfries and Galloway où bon nombre de décors sont associés au film culte The Wicker Man.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Logan Botanic Garden, Port Logan

Arrêt n°1 - Grotte de St Ninian

C’est à Burrows Head dans les Machars que le terrifiant personnage de paille brule dans la scène du sacrifice à la fin de The Wicker Man. Explorez la grotte mystique de St Ninian située non loin, où le sergent Howie (Edward Woodward) poursuit Rowan.

Arrêt n°2 - Jardin botanique de Logan

Dirigez-vous vers le magnifique Jardin botanique de Logan pour admirer les plantes tropicales impressionnantes qui prospèrent dans l'atmosphère chaude générée par le Gulf Stream. Ce superbe jardin luxuriant a servi de décors pour le jardin de Lord Summerisle dans le film.

Arrêt n°3 - Château de Kennedy

Voyagez au nord ouest, via le Galloway Forest Park, jusqu'au château de Kennedy qui apparaît dans les scènes de procession du 1er mai et des menhirs. Les superbes jardins qui entourent cet impressionnant château en ruine sont parfaits pour une promenade dans la nature. Pourquoi ne pas vous arrêter pour manger un morceau dans le salon de thé ?

Jour 2

Présentation

Maybole et Glasgow

Le deuxième jour de votre itinéraire démarre sur le dernier lieu de tournage de The Wicker Man, le château de Culzean, avant de vous conduire au nord pour explorer la ville de Glasgow. Là, vous pourrez admirer des décors qui ont servi pour World War Z, La Part des anges et Cloud Atlas.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Culzean Castle, Ayrshire © Ayrshire&ArranTourismTeam

Arrêt n°1 - Château de Culzean

Voyagez jusqu'à Maybole, où vous reconnaîtrez l'extérieur du château de Culzean comme étant le manoir de Lord Summerisle (Christopher Lee) dans The Wicker Man. Perché à flanc d'une falaise spectaculaire, ce chef-d'œuvre conçu par Robert Adam est rempli de trésors à découvrir ainsi que de sentiers calmes où se promener dans des décors éblouissants.

Arrêt n°2 - Glasgow

Passez le reste de la journée à explorer Glasgow, dont le centre ville a été transformé en 2011 pour représenter les rues de Philadelphie dans le film d'apocalypse zombie World War Z, avec Brad Pitt. L'architecture renommée de la ville a également servi de décor aux films à succès La Part des anges et Cloud Atlas avec Tom Hanks et Halle Berry.

Jour 3

Présentation

Roslin et Édimbourg

Pour votre second jour, dirigez-vous à l'est jusqu'à Roslin pour explorer la magnifique chapelle de Rosslyn, star du Da Vinci Code. Puis allez à Édimbourg pour voir quels lieux de tournage vous pourrez reconnaître, consultez la carte des films d'Édimbourg pour un petit coup de pouce.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin

Arrêt n°1 - Chapelle de Rosslyn

Rendez-vous dans la chapelle de Rosslyn pour en admirer l'extraordinaire architecture et les sculptures en pierre médiévales qui ont servi de décor au livre et à l'adaptation cinématographique du Da Vinci Code de Dan Brown. Marchez dans les pas de Robert Langdon (Tom Hanks) alors que vous explorer cette magnifique chapelle.

Arrêt n°2 - Édimbourg

Continuez avec Édimbourg. La capitale écossaise est apparue dans de nombreux films et séries au fil des années. La carte des films d'Édimbourg vous conduira dans les lieux où les meilleurs moments de vos films préférés se sont déroulés. Dans le centre-ville, vous pourrez admirer certains bâtiments qui apparaissent dans les clichés emblématiques du film Un jour, une comédie romantique basée sur le roman de David Nicholls avec Anne Hathaway.

La représentation brute de Leith dans Trainspotting est déjà légendaire. Le vieux port de mer a subi un lifting d'envergure et propose désormais un large choix de lieux où manger et boire ainsi que d'excellentes boutiques. Pourquoi ne pas participer à une visite guidée de Leith sur le thème de Trainspotting pour voir par vous-même certains des lieux qui apparaissent dans ce classique ?

Jour 4

Présentation

St Andrews et Ballater

Votre troisième jour de l'itinéraire vous conduit à travers les magnifiques paysages de la côte est de l'Écosse. Conduisez sur la route côtière jusqu'à St Andrews, qui apparaît dans Les Chariots de feu, avant de vous diriger vers le nord et le Royal Deeside dans l'Aberdeenshire, où le domaine Balmoral, que vous pouvez voir dans The Queen, vous attend.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Balmoral Castle and Estate, Royal Deeside

Arrêt n°1 - Plage de West Sands

Depuis Édimbourg, traversez le pont de Forth et suivez les panneaux vers l'est pour rejoindre St Andrews. La plage de West Sands de cette charmante petite ville de la côte est apparaît dans les séquences d'ouverture du film Les Chariots de feu, avec sa bande originale distinctive par Vangelis. Les fans de golf reconnaîtront le fameux Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews en arrière-plan et les vrais cinéphiles observeront le filet de camouflage qui recouvre les voitures garées et que l'on aperçoit dans l'une des scènes tournées ici !

Arrêt n°2 - Domaine de Balmoral

Continuez au nord via le pont de Tay et Dundee pour rejoindre l'A93 et traverser Spittal of Glenshee pour trouver le château de Balmoral. Cette magnifique attraction est la résidence de la famille royale dans les Highlands depuis 1852, et elle apparaît dans le film primé aux oscars The Queen, un portrait de Sa Majesté la reine, Elizabeth II, en 2006.

Jour 5

Présentation

Stonehaven, Pennan et Inverness

Le cinquième jour de votre itinéraire vous conduit au château de Dunnottar, qui aurait inspiré la résidence familiale de Merida dans Rebelle, à la charmante ville de Pennan, qui a servi de décor dans Local Hero, et au Loch Ness, qui apparaît dans Le Dragon des mers : La Dernière Légende.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Dunnottar Castle, near Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire

Arrêt n°1 - Château de Dunnottar

Dirigez-vous vers le château de Dunnottar, qui aurait inspiré la résidence familiale des DunBroch dans le film d'animation de Disney/Pixar Rebelle. Explorez ce fascinant château en ruine, perché sur une falaise spectaculaire au-dessus de la mer du Nord.

Arrêt n°2 - Pennan

Suivez le littoral de l'Aberdeenshire au nord pour rejoindre un autre emblème du cinéma en Écosse. Aggloméré sous les falaises et avec la cabine téléphonique la plus connue d'Écosse, Pennan a été utilisé pour la moitié du village fictif de Ferness dans Local Hero.

Arrêt n°3 - Loch Ness

Depuis Pennan, rendez-vous vers l'ouest sur l'A98 direction Inverness pour rejoindre le sommet de Great Glen et le Loch Ness, qui a servi de décor au film Le Dragon des mers : La Dernière Légende. Une histoire enchanteresse sur son habitant le plus mystérieux, le monstre du Loch Ness. Ardkinglas House dans l'Argyll a été utilisée comme lieu de tournage en extérieur principal pour ce film.

Jour 6

Présentation

Fort William et Glenfinnan

Passez la journée à Fort William, la capitale du plein air du Royaume-Uni et l'un des lieux de tournage les plus connus d'Écosse. Terminez votre visite de la région avec un tour en train pour passer le fameux viaduc de Glenfinnan, qui apparaît dans plusieurs des films Harry Potter.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Glenfinnan Viaduct, Lochaber

Arrêt n°1 - Fort William

Descendez le long du Loch Ness à travers Great Glen jusqu'à Fort William et Glen Nevis, dans l'ombre de Ben Nevis. Avec certains des paysages les plus spectaculaires d'Écosse à portée de main, les cinéastes ont utilisé ce lieu de nombreuses fois, y compris dans des films comme Braveheart, Rob Roy, Highlander et Harry Potter et la Coupe de Feu.

Arrêt n°2 - Viaduc de Glenfinnan

D'autres lieux de tournage, tels que le viaduc de Glenfinnan, qui est apparu dans Harry Potter et la chambre des secrets, sont visibles à proximité. En effet, la scène spectaculaire avec une course entre le train du Poudlard Express et la voiture volante Ford Anglia se passe sur le viaduc de Glenfinnan pour rentrer dans le domaine de Glenfinnan dans l'ouest des Highlands. Participez à votre propre voyage en train magique en empruntant le train à vapeur jacobite entre Fort William et Mallaig.

Jour 7

Présentation

Glencoe, Killin et Doune

Votre dernière journée vous conduira à travers certains des paysages les plus impressionnants d'Écosse. Conduisez sur la même route que James Bond dans Skyfall à Glencoe, arrêtez-vous aux cascades des Falls of Dochart (autre lieu de tournage de James Bond) avant de vous diriger vers Doune pour explorer le château de Doune, que l'on peut apercevoir dans Outlander et les Monty Python.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Arrêts

  • Transport

    Voiture

Doune Castle, Doune © Heartland Arts / Fotolia

Arrêt n°1 - Glencoe

Depuis Fort William, suivez l'A82 à travers Glencoe, où des scènes de Skyfall ont été filmées à l'ombre du Buachaille Etive Mor.

Étape 2 - Falls of Dochart

Continuez vers l'est pour rejoindre Killin et les pittoresques Falls of Dochart, le décor de Casino Royale en 1967 et du remake du film Les 39 Marches en 1959.

Arrêt n°3 - Château de Doune

Tournez vers le sud via Callander pour atteindre le château de Doune, lieu de tournage clé dans la série Outlander, dans lequel il joue le rôle du château fictif de Leoch, où résident Colum MacKenzie et son clan dans les épisodes du XVIIIe siècle. Le château est également étroitement lié à Monty Python : Sacré Graal ! et est toujours un lieu de « pèlerinage » pour les fans des Monty Python.

Résumé

Politique de cookies

VisitScotland utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience sur notre site. En utilisant notre site, vous acceptez notre politique d'utilisation de cookies. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez lire notre nouvelle déclaration de confidentialité et de cookies.

Arts and Culture

More than just a backdrop, Scotland has added its own particular ambience to a wide variety of films, from the Da Vinci Code's mysterious Rosslyn Chapel to the breathtaking Highland scenery found in Braveheart, Harry Potter and Skyfall.

Follow this itinerary to see these very locations for yourself, and find out why the sheer dramatic impact of these landscapes lures filmmakers back to Scotland again and again.

Transport

Car

Days

7

Miles

715

Route

from Machars peninsula to Callendar

Highlights

Film locations, landscapes

Areas Covered

All of Scotland (South, West, East and North)

see full route

Day 1

overview

Machars peninsula, Port Logan & Stranraer

Your first day begins in Dumfries & Galloway for a whole range of settings associated with the cult film The Wicker Man.

  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Logan Botanic Garden, Port Logan

Stop 1 - St Ninian's Cave

The fearsome wicker figure burned in the sacrifice scene at the end of The Wicker Man was set up at Burrows Head in the Machars. Explore the otherworldly St Ninian's Cave nearby, where Sergeant Howie (Edward Woodward) tracks Rowan.

Stop 2 - Logan Botanic Garden

Head to the gorgeous Logan Botanic Garden and admire the impressive tropical plants which thrive in the warm atmosphere created by the Gulf Stream. The beautiful garden filled in as Lord Summerisle's lush garden in the movie.

Stop 3 - Castle Kennedy

Travel north and west, via the Galloway Forest Park, to Castle Kennedy, which featured in the stone circle and May Day procession scenes. The beautiful gardens which surround this impressive ruined castle are the perfect place for a walk in the countryside or you could stop for a tasty snack in the tearoom.

Day 2

overview

Maybole & Glasgow

The second day of your itinerary begins at your final film location from The Wicker Man, Culzean Castle, before you travel north to explore the bustling city of Glasgow, where you can see settings from World War Z, The Angel's Share and Cloud Atlas.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Culzean Castle, Ayrshire © Ayrshire&ArranTourismTeam

Stop 1 - Culzean Castle

Travel to Maybole, where you'll recognise the exterior of Culzean Castle as the grand mansion of Lord Summerisle (Christopher Lee) from The Wicker Man. Perched on the side of a dramatic cliff, this Robert Adam designed masterpiece is packed with treasures for you to discover as well as peaceful walks in the stunning grounds.

Stop 2 - Glasgow

Spend the rest of your day exploring Glasgow, where in 2011 the city centre was transformed into the streets of Philadelphia for the zombie apocalypse movie World War Z, starring Brad Pitt. The city's renowned architecture has also been the backdrop for the critically acclaimed The Angel's Share, and Cloud Atlas which stars Tom Hanks and Halle Berry.

Day 3

overview

Roslin & Edinburgh

On your second day head east to Roslin and explore the magnificent Rosslyn Chapel, star of the Da Vinci Code. Next head into Edinburgh and see which film locations you recognise - check out this Edinburgh film map for inspiration.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin

Stop 1 - Rosslyn Chapel

Head to Rosslyn Chapel and admire the extraordinary architecture and medieval stone carvings which provided the backdrop to Dan Brown's the Da Vinci Code book and the movie adaption. Walk in the footsteps of Robert Langdon (Tom Hanks) as you explore this stunning chapel.

Stop 2 - Edinburgh

Continue to Edinburgh. Scotland's capital city has featured in many films and TV productions over the years. The Edinburgh film map takes you to the places where your favourite movie moments happened. In the city centre you can admire some of the buildings which featured in iconic shots from One Day, the romantic comedy based on the novel by David Nicholls and starring Anne Hathaway.

The gritty portrayal of Leith in Trainspotting is already history. The old seaport has had a far ranging facelift and now offers a fine range of eating and drinking venues as well as quality shopping. Why not book a Trainspotting tour of Leith to see some of the locations featured in this classic for yourself?

Day 4

overview

St Andrews & Ballater

Your third day on the itinerary takes you through the beautiful landscapes of Scotland's east coast. Drive along the coastal route to St Andrews, featured in Chariots of Fire, before heading north to Royal Deeside in Aberdeenshire where Balmoral Estate, featured in The Queen, awaits you.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Balmoral Castle and Estate, Royal Deeside

Stop 1 - West Sands beach

From Edinburgh, cross the Forth Bridge and follow signs east for St Andrews. This handsome east coast town's West Sands beach features in the opening sequences of Chariots of Fire, with its distinctive Vangelis soundtrack. Golf fans will recognise St Andrews' famous Royal and Ancient Golf Clubhouse in the background, and real film buffs will observe the camouflage netting covering parked cars in one shot here!

Stop 2 - Balmoral Estate

Continue north via the Tay Bridge and Dundee and pick up the A93 to drive through the Spittal of Glenshee for Balmoral Castle. This beautiful attraction has been the Highland home of the Royal Family since 1852 and featured in the Oscar-winning film The Queen, a 2006 portrayal of HM The Queen, Elizabeth II.

Day 5

overview

Stonehaven, Pennan & Inverness

Day five on the itinerary takes you to Dunnottar Castle, which is said to have inspired Merida's family home in Brave, the quaint town of Pennan, a setting in Local Hero, and Loch Ness, featured in The Water Horse - Legend of the Deep.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Dunnottar Castle, near Stonehaven, Aberdeenshire

Stop 1 - Dunnottar Castle

Head to Dunnottar Castle, said to be the inspiration for the DunBroch family home in DisneyoPixar's Brave. Explore this fascinating ruined castle, perched dramatically on cliffs above the North Sea.

Stop 2 - Pennan

Follow the Aberdeenshire coastline north to another Scottish film icon. Clustered below the cliffs and with Scotland's most famous phonebox, Pennan was one half of the fictional village of Ferness in Local Hero.

Stop 3 - Loch Ness

From Pennan, head westwards along the A98 towards Inverness and to the top of the Great Glen and Loch Ness, the setting of the film The Water Horse - Legend of the Deep, an enchanting story about its most mysterious inhabitant, the Loch Ness Monster. Ardkinglas House in Argyll was used as the main exterior location in the film.

Day 6

overview

Fort William & Glenfinnan

Spend a day exploring Fort William, the Outdoor Capital of the UK and one of the most frequently used film locations in Scotland. Round off your stay in the area with a train ride along the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct, which features in several of the Harry Potter movies.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Glenfinnan Viaduct, Lochaber

Stop 1 - Fort William

Follow Loch Ness down through the Great Glen to Fort William and Glen Nevis, in the shadow of Ben Nevis. With some of Scotland's most dramatic scenery available, filmmakers have used this location repeatedly, including scenes from films such as Braveheart, Rob Roy, Highlander and Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.

Stop 2 - Glenfinnan Viaduct

Other locations nearby include the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct, which featured in Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. The spectacular train chase scene features the Hogwarts Express and a flying Ford Anglia car, crossing the Glenfinnan Viaduct on the Glenfinnan estate in the west Highlands. Experience your own magical train journey by taking a trip on the Jacobite Steam Train between Fort William and Mallaig.

Day 7

overview

Glencoe, Killin & Doune

Your final day will take you through some of Scotland's most impressive landscapes. Drive along the same route James Bond followed in Skyfall at Glencoe, stop at the Falls of Dochart (another Bond site) before travelling on to Doune to explore Doune Castle, which boasts connections to the Outlander TV series and Monty Python.
  • Miles

  • Km

  • Stops

  • Transport

    Car

Doune Castle, Doune © Heartland Arts / Fotolia

Stop 1 - Glencoe

From Fort William head along the A82 through Glencoe, where scenes from Skyfall were filmed in the shadow of Buachaille Etive Mor.

Stop 2 - Falls of Dochart

Continue east for Killin and the picturesque Falls of Dochart, the backdrop to the 1967 Casino Royale and the 1959 remake of The 39 Steps.

Stop 3 - Doune Castle

Turn south via Callander to reach Doune Castle, a key location in the hit TV series Outlander where it stands in for the fictional Castle Leoch, home to Colum MacKenzie and his clan in the 18th century episodes. The castle is also firmly associated with Monty Python and the Holy Grail and is still very much a place of 'pilgrimage' for Monty Python fans.

Summary

Cookie Policy

VisitScotland uses cookies to enhance your experience on our website. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies. Please read our new privacy and cookies statement for more information.